Backup unsuccessful due to shadow copy error

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jettanker, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. jettanker

    jettanker New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I get this message everytime I back up:

    The backup was not successful. The error is: Windows Backup failed while trying to read from the shadow copy on one of the volumes being backed up. Please check in the event logs for any relevant errors. (0x81000037).

    It's the first time I'm doing a backup and it only goes up to 25%. What can I do to prevent this error so I can complete my backup?
     
  2. Raziaar

    Raziaar New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I got this same problem.
     
  3. TwinA

    TwinA New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    If you have NOD32 installed, then disable that during the backup.
     
  4. rsvr85

    rsvr85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    NOD32 probably has nothing to do with it. Make sure the file system is set to NTFS and also make sure the drive is in tip top condition (run a chkdsk on it). Mine got corrupted a little while back, i got it back (enough to retrieve all my data) but when i try and backup now i get that same error message. I tried on a different drive and all was well.
     
  5. TwinA

    TwinA New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    NOD32 are reported to be the issue elsewhere on the internet :) I have never seen this problem myself, i just googled it :)
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,221
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Go to Services and make sure the Volume Shadow Copy Service is running.
     
  7. rsvr85

    rsvr85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    The Volume Shadow Copy Service is set to run manually by default, it would be unnecessary to have it running all the time.
    Just make sure when the backup is running the Volume Shadow Copy Service is running.
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,221
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    If I remember correctly, if the Volume Shadow Copy service is not set to automatics, System restore will not function.
     
  9. rsvr85

    rsvr85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    I'm not 100% sure that's true.
    I have it set to manual (i just checked :)) and i ran a sucessful system restore 2 days ago, the 'previous versions' also works fine and dandy.
     
  10. jettanker

    jettanker New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks all for your input. My problem was that I was backing up both a Mac and Windows OS onto a single hard drive. I needed to change the file system to NTFS and the back up worked. I checked Volume Shadow Copy in services and this was set to Manual. I didn't have to change it to automatic for the back up to complete.
     
  11. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,221
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Glad you got it,

    Thanks for posting back.:)
     
  12. teninodad

    teninodad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I had this problem and it turned out that I had a file which MS security essentials regarded as dangerous. Once I ran a full scan and erased the file, backup ran fine.
     

Share This Page