Cannot install NET framework 2.0 SP1 on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Sue Hughes, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. Sue Hughes

    Sue Hughes Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I am trying to install NET Framework 2.0 SP1 on Windows 7.
    This is a brand new install, the only apps I have installed are Office 2007 PRO, and Adobe Reader 9.0
    I get the following error

    You must use "Turn Windows features on or off" in the Control Panel to install or configure Microsoft.NET Framework 2.0 SP1.

    Any ideas out there?
    Thank you
    Sue
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,221
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Windows 7 ships with .NET framework 3.5.

    The SP1 makes the version 2.0.5727_32.

    Do you have an app that asking to install the .NET framework 2.0 SP1?
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  3. imranbutt

    imranbutt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Rouge Warrior Games Requires .net framework sp1

    I am also facing the same problem I have also checked the boxes under "Turn Microsoft Features on or off" of .net framework 3.5 which is by default installed by window 7. Now on installing it shows the message your OS does not come on the requirements. Does anyone can help regarding this issue.
  4. gunner308

    gunner308 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    I think that .NET framework 3.5 has already been installed in Windows 7 RTM and you do not need to install it manually
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,221
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Could you please fill in your computer specs in the UserCP link at the top left hand side of the page.

    Then click Edit Your Details.

    This freeware program will give you all the information you will need:

    SIV (System Information Viewer) 4.03
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,221
    Location:
    Erie, PA
  7. JayEdward

    JayEdward New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Ansys v12 is asking me to install the .NET framework 2.0 SP1

    Hi all same problems as above I have the latest Microsoft.NET framework 3.5 SP1 and updates for windows 7 but when I try to install Ansys V12 its asking me to "Turn Microsoft Features on or off" for Microsoft.net framework 2.0 SP1 even though I have 3.5.

    Any Ideas?
    I'm running an HP intel i7 processor 4gb ram windows 7 etc.

    Thanks
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,221
    Location:
    Erie, PA
  9. Charlie Sadaka

    Charlie Sadaka New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I had the same problem. I was running a custom software on Windows 7 32 bit which requires .Net Framework 2.0 SP1 and received the error "You must use "Turn Windows features on or off" in the Control Panel to install or configure Microsoft.NET Framework 2.0 SP1."

    After installing .NET Framework 4 I was able to run the application successfully.

Share This Page