"Reboot and select proper boot device" Win 7 won't install on SSD

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by windows7forumss, May 24, 2012.

  1. windows7forumss

    windows7forumss New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I;m trying to install Windows 7, but instead of loading the windows disk it just says "reboot and select proper boot device"
    I already told the BIOS to boot from disk.

    Help?
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    14,228
    If you have set everything correctly and are hitting a key to boot from a DVD, I would suspect your Install Media. Where did you get it, and if you burned it yourself, you might try again and possibly even re-download it.
  3. windows7forumss

    windows7forumss New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    i got it from my university. i downloaded it twice to make sure that wasn't the problem.
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    23,726
    Location:
    LV-426
    Did you download it in iso form? If so, don't burn any faster than 4x otherwise it leads to problems.
    1 person likes this.
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    14,228
    If you do continue to have problems, you might think about using a flash drive to install. Perhaps there is something about your DVD drive that might be involved.
  6. windows7forumss

    windows7forumss New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Alright, so I tried it instead with a 32-bit disk and it works. I'm puzzled though because I've had win7-64 bit on this computer before (i just lost the CD).
    i've burned a few 64 bit cds from my university website but none of them work. i'll see if I can find a USB big enough.

    I checked the iso hash and it was correct, so i don't know what's going on. I used the slowest speed for this last disk.
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    23,726
    Location:
    LV-426
    Hmm... I wonder why those 64bit disks won't work? Have you tried them in a friends machine? If you get the same issue it could be the actual brand or batch of disks your using..
  8. windows7forumss

    windows7forumss New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Would the disks work on a macintosh? How do I test it without ruining their computers?
  9. windows7forumss

    windows7forumss New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I tried booting from the USB and it worked!
    So for some reason my DVD drive or hard drive didn't like the 64-bit windows DVDs, but was fine with USB.
    Thanks for the help!
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    23,726
    Location:
    LV-426
    Excellent news! :)

Share This Page