RMClock Utility =/

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by Aceadam, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. Aceadam

    Aceadam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Well i kinda need this program runnning as my laptop can overheat quite fast... Any Ideas?
     
  2. ArthurDent

    ArthurDent New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    38
  3. minger

    minger New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I upgraded from Vista and RMClock works fine for me.
     
  4. Aceadam

    Aceadam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    i got that exact one.
     
  5. ren274u

    ren274u New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Copy this file over the original in the RMClock folder, this has signed drivers. I had the same problem last night.
     
  6. ArthurDent

    ArthurDent New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Ah right, that explains it then.....

    The one I'm using probably hasn't got the signed driver(s), but works because I've disabled driver signing.

    You can disable driver signing by pressing F8 at Boot and select the relevant option from the menu that comes up.
     
  7. ren274u

    ren274u New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    But dont you have to do that every restart?
     
  8. ArthurDent

    ArthurDent New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Not sure to be honest. But what I do know is that I've restarted my system quite a few times now and not had to alter my boot time settings (via F8) at all. RMClock works just fine.
     
  9. zomby4245

    zomby4245 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    RMClock on Windows 7

    Hi,

    I use RMClock to get rid the "high pitched noise" of my laptop (HP DV5-1130ca). It was running quite smoothly on Vista SP1. I recently made a Windows 7 (32 bits) clean install. An I can't get rid of this noise anymore but RMClock is running correctly. Any Ideas?

    To get rid of the noise I had to disable the x6 FID in the profile tab and then select "P-State transitions".
     
  10. cniggeler

    cniggeler New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    If temp is the issue, try CPUgenie

    I note that Aceadam didn't reply whether he's running with RMClock. If not, and your goal is temp management, check out CPUgenie, which IMO is better at managing voltages and thus temperature than RMClock. They actually have a voltage test utility that runs a minimum of 14 hours to establish voltages for each P-state of your machine. Cons:

    - My Win7 laptop rebooted periodically after a few days using CPUgenie. I suppose I could rerun the voltage utility, but I really want a better performance manager than what CPUgenie has.
    - Not free (US$14.95) but a 30-day eval window
     

Share This Page