A laptop connects to a 100W charging hub on a desk with dual monitors displaying a mountain lake.
There is an unspoken rite of passage for every Windows power user: the moment you peer behind your desk and realize your "clean, single-cable workstation" depends on a power brick the size of a sourdough loaf. Docking stations are supposed to banish clutter, yet most of them simply relocate the mess to the floor.

Baseus is pitching a cleaner alternative with the newly launched Spacemate RD1 Plus 14-in-1 (WIN) Docking Station. Announced by Baseus via PR Newswire on October 15, 2026, the new desk tower folds a gallium nitride (GaN) power supply directly into the chassis, adds an orientation-sensing front screen, and offers dual 4K display support alongside a 120W total power output rating. Carrying a U.S. launch price of $259.99, the dock is aimed squarely at Windows laptop users looking to consolidate charging, monitors, and peripherals into a single desktop unit.

Before you clear a spot on your desk, however, it pays to look closely at the engineering fine print. When a dock promises "4K at 120Hz," "140W GaN," and "120W output" in the same breath, discerning PC builders and enterprise IT buyers know to check where the bandwidth and wattage actually go.

A laptop connects to a 100W charging hub on a desk with dual monitors displaying a mountain lake. Farewell to the Floor Brick: Inside the Power Architecture​

The headline physical change on the Spacemate RD1 Plus is what isn't dangling from the power cord. According to Baseus’s product specifications, while the standard 11-in-1 Spacemate RD1 requires an external charger, the 14-in-1 RD1 Plus builds its GaN power supply right into the body, making the enclosure a bit larger as a result. Per Baseus’s official product specifications, the unit measures 3.72 by 0.98 by 5.45 inches and weighs 3.02 pounds (SKU B0114701).

When examining the power specs, it is important to separate the internal component rating from what your devices actually receive:

  • 140W Built-in GaN Supply: Baseus lists the internal GaN power module as rated for 140W input.
  • 120W Total Output: The dock’s actual combined power output ceiling across its charging ports is 120W.
  • 100W Host Charging Ceiling: According to Baseus’s product page, the upstream USB-C port that links the dock to your laptop delivers up to 100W of power, while two front-facing USB-C ports support up to 45W fast charging for phones or accessories.
  • Dynamic Allocation: Baseus uses its PowerTune 3.0 system to prioritize power delivery to the host laptop first, dynamically dividing the remaining wattage among other connected mobile devices.

Because packing a 140W power supply and video controllers into a single shell generates heat, thermal management becomes critical. Baseus states in its launch announcement that dedicated thermal vents dissipate heat during extended workdays.

For Windows laptop owners, Baseus’s official FAQ adds a practical caveat worth noting: the RD1 Plus charges laptops without needing an extra adapter, but certain high-power Dell and HP laptops that rely on proprietary charging protocols may trigger a "slow charging" warning in Windows. Baseus states this is a standard protocol compatibility notice rather than a hardware fault, and the system will continue to charge through its up-to-100W USB-C Power Delivery path.

Section Summary: The RD1 Plus eliminates the external power brick by integrating a 140W GaN supply, delivering up to 120W of total shared output—capped at up to 100W for the host laptop and up to 45W on two front USB-C ports.

The 4K Display Reality Check: Bandwidth, DSC, and the macOS Catch​

Nothing causes more desk-flipping frustration in IT circles than buying a "4K@120Hz Dual Monitor" dock only to discover your screens are stuck at 60Hz—or mirroring the exact same spreadsheet. Why does that happen? It comes down to USB-C DisplayPort Alt Mode bandwidth and Multi-Stream Transport (MST) support.

The Spacemate RD1 Plus includes two HDMI ports. According to Baseus’s PR Newswire announcement, the dock supports up to 4K at 120Hz on a single display for Windows systems, or dual 4K at 60Hz in an extended two-monitor setup. Baseus’s product specifications add a hardware-specific detail: while both HDMI ports handle 4K output, only one of the two ports supports the 120Hz refresh rate at 4K, while the second port maxes out at 4K at 60Hz.

Even on Windows 10 and Windows 11, plugging in two 4K monitors doesn't automatically guarantee dual 4K at 60Hz. In its official product FAQ, Baseus outlines a strict three-part hardware chain required to achieve dual 4K@60Hz:

  • The Host PC: Your laptop’s full-featured USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt port must support DisplayPort 1.4 with Display Stream Compression (DSC) enabled.
  • The Cabling: Both connections must use HDMI 2.0 or newer cables.
  • The Monitors: Both external displays must support 4K at 60Hz with DSC enabled.

Once connected, Windows users simply press Windows + P and choose Extend from the projection flyout to run independent desktops across both displays.

What if you run a cross-platform desk with a MacBook alongside your Windows rig? Note the "(WIN)" label in the product's full name. While Baseus lists general compatibility with macOS 10.15 and later as well as Linux, its official FAQ explicitly confirms that two external monitors connected to a Mac cannot display different content. Extended dual-monitor mode on this dock is supported on Windows only; macOS users are limited to non-extended behavior and are directed by Baseus toward separate macOS-specific models.

Section Summary: Windows users can run a single 4K display at 120Hz or dual extended 4K displays at 60Hz, provided the laptop, cables, and monitors all support DP 1.4 with DSC and HDMI 2.0+. Independent dual-monitor extension is not supported on macOS.

Ports, Smart Screen, and the Growing Spacemate Lineup​

Beyond video and power, the RD1 Plus acts as a central hub for desktop peripherals. Baseus lists 14 total ports, including six USB ports, two HDMI ports, a Gigabit Ethernet jack, an SD card slot, and a microSD (TF) card reader. Baseus rates the USB ports for data transfer speeds up to 10Gbps, matching its headline 10Gbps specification (though, based on standard USB bus architecture, users should remember that shared upstream bandwidth means multiple drives won't sustain 10Gbps simultaneously; Baseus's spec sheet also notes USB 2.0 Type-A, USB 3.2 Gen 1, and USB 3.2 Gen 2 interfaces among the hardware specs).

To help users keep tabs on what the dock is actually doing, the front panel features an integrated smart LCD. Whether you stand the dock upright like a mini tower or lay it flat under a monitor riser, an orientation sensor automatically rotates the screen readout so the text stays right-side up. The display tracks live charging wattage, host connection status, data transmission info, and operational alerts. Baseus also equips the unit with a one-finger privacy lock button to quickly blank or lock down your display when stepping away from your desk.

To see how the RD1 Plus fits into the broader Spacemate family covered across recent tech reports, here is a quick breakdown of the verified specifications:

Feature / SpecBaseus Spacemate RD1 Plus (WIN)Baseus Spacemate RD1 (Regular)Baseus Spacemate RD1 MiniBaseus Spacemate RD1 Pro
Total Ports14-in-111-in-110-in-1Desktop dock w/ 2x HDMI, 4x USB-C, 4x USB-A, SD/microSD, 1GbE
Power SupplyBuilt-in 140W GaN (no external brick)External charger required120W DC power inputUp to 160W max total output
Max Power Output120W total (up to 100W host, 2x 45W front USB-C)Not specified in launch reportUp to 100W host, 30W front USB-CUp to 100W per USB-C PD, plus 25W Qi2.2 wireless pad
Display Support1x 4K@120Hz or 2x 4K@60Hz (Windows extended)Not specified in launch reportDual 4K monitor support1x 4K@120Hz or 2x 4K@60Hz
Smart DisplayAuto-rotating LCDBuilt-in screen seriesBuilt-in smart displayNot specified in excerpt

Section Summary: Alongside 10Gbps data capability, Gigabit Ethernet, and dual card readers, the RD1 Plus distinguishes itself with an auto-rotating telemetry screen and a one-finger privacy lock button.

Pricing, Availability, and What Buyers Should Verify First​

According to Baseus’s PR Newswire announcement (as corrected on October 16), the Baseus Spacemate RD1 Plus 14-in-1 (WIN) Station carries a U.S. recommended retail price of $259.99 via Amazon US, with a European release on Amazon Germany scheduled for October 30, 2026, at €269.99. While the press release describes the dock as available now on Amazon US, Baseus’s own U.S. web store listed the $259.99 unit as "Sold out" at the time of publication, so early buyers may see fluctuating stock across storefronts.

At $259.99, the RD1 Plus sits in premium USB-C dock territory. Because no independent thermal, sustained-load charging, or throughput benchmarks have been published yet, prospective buyers should evaluate it based on how well its architecture matches their existing Windows hardware:

  • Check your laptop's USB-C port specs: Confirm that your Windows 10 or Windows 11 laptop supports DisplayPort 1.4 with DSC if your goal is dual 4K@60Hz monitors.
  • Verify your wattage needs: If you use a thin-and-light laptop, Surface device, or business ultrabook that draws 65W to 100W over standard USB-C PD, the integrated GaN supply will easily replace your travel brick and still leave headroom for your phone. If you run a mobile workstation requiring 130W+ over a proprietary Dell or HP barrel or custom USB-C handshake, expect Windows to flag a slow-charging warning.
  • Skip it for multi-monitor Macs: If you need two independent external screens on macOS, look for a Thunderbolt or DisplayLink-based solution rather than a Windows MST hub.

For Windows users tired of kicking an oversized AC adapter under the desk, getting a 14-port hub, a 100W laptop charger, dual 4K video outputs, and a live wattage readout in a single upright footprint is a welcome bit of desktop engineering. Just make sure your laptop's GPU and USB-C controller are ready to hold up their end of the bargain.


Correction (October 17, 2026): An earlier version of this article attributed several Spacemate RD1 Plus specifications to Notebookcheck; Notebookcheck has published no coverage of the RD1 Plus, and those specifications come from Baseus's own press release and product page. The claim that the dock has an internal cooling fan was removed: Notebookcheck documented an internal fan only on the different RD1 Pro model, and Baseus's RD1 Plus announcement credits only dedicated thermal vents.

 

References

  1. Baseus launches new 14-in-1 dock with dual 4K output, 120W fast charging, and display - Notebookcheck Notebookcheck 2026-10-17T14:55:00+00:00
  2. Baseus Spacemate RD1 Plus 14-in-1 (WIN) Docking Station baseus.com
  3. Baseus Spacemate RD1 Plus: The Definitive 14-in-1 Desk Tower with 4K@120Hz prnewswire.com