16 bit software not working

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by sshamma, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. sshamma

    sshamma New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,
    i have a piece of pretty old software, and when i put it in, the error i get says that the software is 16bit and cannot be installed on any 64 bit windows (i tried it on another machine vista 64 also didnt work). i know that after a program is installed you can have it run simulation on an older windows but is there anything that can be done to get around this error right upon boot? any tips or suggestions for thing to try would be much appreciated. thank you
     
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hi.

    No, you'll have to uninstall the software and then install it while using a virtual machine such as Windows 7's XP mode. You'll have to use XP mode to use the software.
     
  3. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
  4. sshamma

    sshamma New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet thanks for the help, i will give them a shot and hopefully will work
     
  5. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    If you are going VMWare or VirtualBox, make sure to install a 32-bit os for your 16-bit software to work. The advantage of XP Mode is in licensing, once you install XP it's already activated. However, XP mode is available in 7 Ultimate/Business/Professional editions only.
     

Share This Page

Loading...