32 Bit Windows 7 Doesnt allow Aero Peek/Shake/Etc

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Tallbus1, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I have an Nvidia 8500 GT graphics card, and noticed that I couldnt use any of the vista themes besides the basic theme. When I troubleshooted (real word? :p) it said that my card couldnt do Aero. I know for a fact my card CAN do this, because A) I have run a Windows 7 dual boot before and it worked B) It works on Vista which runs Aero. so my larger question is, how do I fix this?
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello and welcome,
    Sorry for all the questions, but........
    In order to troubleshoot your problem we need to know more detailed specs of your system hardware.

    1. Go to Start > Run, and type msinfo32, look under the Components section for hardware identification
    2. Go to Control Panel > Device Manager and look for any entry that has a yellow flag beside it
    3. The manufacturer name and model number of your PC, if applicable
    4 Please fill out your computers specs in the User Control Panel here on the site as well. It will then appear next to your name. look at my posting and you'll see the drop-down arrow.

    The exact make and model of your motherboard would be of great help also.
    Are you using the 32-bit or 64-bit version?
    Was it a "clean" install or an upgrade?
    Are you dual-booting?
    Are you suing the official RC directly from Microsoft?
    Did this occur immediately after install?
    Do you recall installing any software that may have caused the problem?

    Do you have the Windows 7 drivers directly from Nvidia?
    GeForce/ION Driver Release 186 WHQL

    This is the 32-bit driver.

    If you need the 64-bit edition use this link:
    GeForce/ION Driver Release 186

    Go to Start > Search, type in Fix problems, select Fix problems with transparency and visual effects. this will bring up the Aero troubleshooter and test your graphic card.
     
  3. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    You shouldnt have problems with your card. Try the driver reghakr posted, run Windows Experience Index and reboot.
     
  4. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright well Ill get back to you what I can but this is what I have so far

    The exact make and model of your motherboard would be of great help also.
    Are you using the 32-bit or 64-bit version?
    32
    Was it a "clean" install or an upgrade?
    Upgrade
    Are you dual-booting?
    No (although I have another partition that is unused this is my primary)
    Are you suing the official RC directly from Microsoft?
    Suing? I got it from microsoft yes.
    Did this occur immediately after install?
    Yes, I never had a normal aero always basic
    Do you recall installing any software that may have caused the problem?
    No.

    I am downloading the drivers now and will get back to you.
     
  5. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    And unfortunatly the driver download did not fix the issue.
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I should have stated this earlier.

    you should have removed the previous driver from Device Manager, then run the setup for the new driver.

    Upgrading is not a good idea, a "clean" install is always better.

    I noticed my spelling mistake earlier today and I've been posting that for months,. You're the only one that caught it. I have no fixed it:rolleyes:

    was there any error message, if so, give the exact wording.

    BTW...The shake feature never worked.
     
  7. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, I dont evn know what the shake feature is lol :p. No there was no error, and I did not uninstall before reinstalling. I definantly can if you think I should also, here are my system specs:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    OK,

    So it's basically a budget Gateway and you installed a Nvidia card, correct?

    Have you tried disabling the Logmein mirror driver (whatever that may be):confused:

    What were the reasons given by the Aero troubleshooter why your system was not capable of it?

    You can also go to Start > Run, and type eventvwr.exe and look over the Windows log files for errors and warnings.
     
  9. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's the error I get:
    [​IMG]
    Ill attempt to get rid of the logmein
     
  10. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I disabled LogMeIn but was still unsuccesful.
     
  11. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you actually try the method I posted previously?

    Go to Start > Search, type in Fix problems, select Fix problems with transparency and visual effects. this will bring up the Aero troubleshooter and test your graphic card.
     
  12. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes and what I posted was the result.
     
  13. Tallbus1

    Tallbus1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know what to do?
     

Share This Page

Loading...