4GB ram (3.25 GB usable)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Amoo, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. Amoo

    Amoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just installed Win7 64bit and in control panel I see "installed ram 4GB 3.25 GB usable".
    I have a dedicated video card.
    Why is that, shouldn't win7 see full 4GB?

    Thanks.
    Amoo
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Several people have reported these inconsistencies and the best guess anyone has made (imho) is the bios settings need tweaking or have been tweeked or the bios firmware needs to be updated.
     
    #2 tblount, Oct 26, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  3. Roasted

    Roasted New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's because you have 32 bit Windows. It doesn't matter what operating system it is, Linux and Mac have the same issue. It's based on the architecture built behind the 32 bit standard. It physically can only comprehend 3.25-ish GB of RAM. You can pump your system with 16gb of RAM and it'll still only acknowledge 3.25-ish.

    64 bit will acknowledge all of your RAM. 64 bit has its limitations too, but I think it's substantially higher than what any personal computer would be at for a while.

    EDIT - didn't realize you said you were on 64 bit already. Oops.
     
    #3 Roasted, Oct 26, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...