A different blue screen and a few other issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by leeti, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, I've been having some extremely weird problems with my Windows 7 Home Premium PC. It's brand new, bought in the beginning of the year. There's 4 problems. Main one comes first:
    Today, while I was watching You Tube videos, got a blue screen twice. But not the 'blue screen of death', that blue color you get when you start Windows 7, light blue gradient. The computer responded to nothing. After a while, that screen went off but the CPU was still on. I rebooted it, came back to the website and same thing again. I rebooted it again without going to those websites of before. Here I am, posting these problems only.
    The computer, in the last weeks, also had a problem twice in which, when you put it to turn off, it finishes the process, but the CPU's still on and won't turn off by itself at no way. Usually happens when you use the Power button on the keyboard. With the Start Menu option, it's okay.
    I use an LG monitor that is actually a TV. It often has a problem in which it changes the screen resolution by itself, always after I leave it in standby mode for a long while. Therefore, I have Intel TV wizard installed, with all possible updated drivers to see if that stopped, but it keeps going on so far. I went to W7 troubleshooting and one of the problems there was with 'TVWizard2ft', does it have anything to do with that?
    And 2 days ago the computer had the craziest of all problems. Avast had its license expired (even though it was due 2011), I couldn't uninstall it even with Revo Uninstaller. Computer's date was changed to 2099. All websites I went to on Firefox and IE said it wasn't a safe connection, so I couldn't browse anywhere. I fixed it manually and rebooted, so it's fine now.
    On Windows problems log it doesn't seem to have anything to do with this, except for an issue of 01/12/10 (old, but seems to be important), check out the log (i tried to attach all logs in this post but errors happened):
    I scanned it today with Avast and nothing. Also defragged it. Yesterday I used ComboFix, but guess what, it had a problem too. There was a point in which only the computer background would show and wouldn't get out of there for nothing, didn't respond to any command. I left it there for a long while, cause it could be a ComboFix's process, but it never stopped. I promise to try again later.
    HijackThis log:

    I need help, even if it's just with the worse of problems, because the PC is brand new and was quite expensive. Mommy paid it. And things look bad. If it crashes, I'm sure dead.
    Sorry for such an ENOURMOUS text. I just wanted to give you all the info.

    Some stuff about the computer:
    Windows 7 Home Premium
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93 GHz 2.93 GHz
    Installed Memory (RAM): 2 GB
    Sistem type: OS 32-bit
     
  2. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    well you wont have broken the hardware but you may have damaged the operating system, as combofix is a very powerful tool that should only be used with care preferably under supervision from an expert ?

    have you tried a system restore and have you set the date back to the correct year ?

    do you have the original operating system disk ?
     
  3. JessicaD

    JessicaD New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    13
    If you have the ability, it might also be wise to pull your HDD out and scan it from another computer. Often times, if the Windows files are corrupted or infected by malicious software the infections may not present themselves unless plugged in as a slave drive.

    Can you scan the drive from a boot cd or a separate machine?
     
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Please go to C:\Windows\Minidump to copy the files in there to any other folder. Then rar or zip them and attach the compressed file to a post. We can have a look at the error(s) and show you how to fix them.
     
  5. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try the sistem restore today, though there are only restore points at the day the Avast problem happened, where I tried to uninstall it. If something happens again after that, I'll tell it here.
    Yes, the date is back to normal now. And I do have the original operating system.

    I'm sorry, but I don't have the ability to do that... But thank you so much for the help! If it becomes necessary, I'll call a technician for help.

    The folder is empty right now. My sister used CCleaner before I checked it. Well, I guess I'll try to make the problem happen once again to check the folder another time and leave a response here.

    Thanks for the help so far. I'll take the measures you said later and post further results here...
     
  6. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, the bluescreen is back. But now, it's the regular one.

    It shows a blue screen when you turn on the computer, and then shows the Windows assistent to fix the problem with a system restore.

    I used the program BlueScreenView and WhoCrashed. The three crashes were caused by the same driver: ntkrnlpa.exe. Description: NT Kernel & System
    MemTest found no problems.

    Minidumps are attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    This driver is known to cause major issues when older. 2005 ones drive Windows 7 systems bonkers. This one is 2004:
    Code:
    ASACPI   ASACPI.sys   Thu Aug 12 22:52:52 2004
    I don't even bother telling people to update this any longer. Instead, this is the best approach.

    Please navigate to C:\Windows\System32\drivers

    Rename ASACPI.sys to ASACPI.BAK and then reboot.

    --------------------------

    You should update your Realtek lan driver.

    Code:
    Rt86win7 Rt86win7.sys Fri May 22 10:52:05 2009
    To do so, open device manager. Double click on network adapters. Look at the exact Realtek lan type you have. (Example: 8139) Then search for it on the left side of this link for an updated driver to install:

    Realtek

    --------

    The above should fix it, but if not, please post a new crash dump. I'll have a few more suggestions and the system will be on the way to being well. Keep us updated, please.
     
  8. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Renaming done.

    ATK0110 ACPI UTILITY now has a yellow triangle at Device Manager.

    'Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller' is the only thing that is written at the Device Manager. Which driver should I download at that link with this?
     
  9. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Cool. In device manager, you can right click on that ACPI Utility line and choose disable.

    With that particular Realtek lan driver, you should visit the motherboard manufacturer's website for your particular board. It will have the updated Realtek lan driver to install. Use CPU-Z and look at the mainboard tab if you do not know which motherboard you have.
     
  10. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, it's now disabled.
    My Motherboard: Asus P5KPL-AM-CKD-Visum-SI. Downloaded this LAN driver ASUSTeK Computer Inc. and installed.
     
  11. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Very well then. Please inform us if there are further troubles. If things are going well after some time, please tell us of that instead. Good luck!
     
    leeti and (deleted member) like this.
  12. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem with the ntkrnlpa.exe driver happened again today when I turned on the computer. Again, it showed the Windows assistent to fix the problem with a system restore. How do I fix that ntkrnlpa.exe, anyways? I've searched and many people have that problem but I haven't found anyone who fixed it successfully. Also, haven't found anyone having the problem on W7... Weird. That driver's getting on my nerves.
     
  13. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    You mean you had a blue screen crash? Please post the crash dump, if so.

    There's nothing to fix with ntkrnlpa.exe because it's neither a driver nor at fault. It's a component of the OS. If there are problems, it is something else causing it.

    We can know more by looking at the state of the machine now as it currently stands, by analyzing the crash.
     
  14. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Uninstall whichever ATI overclocking utility you currently have in the normal method. Then go to C:\Windows\System32\drivers and delete this very old driver if it is still there:

    Code:
    ATITool  ATITool.sys  Fri Nov 10 08:08:51 2006
    Also make sure the folder for the software ATI Tray Tools as a guess, in Program Files (or Program Files (x86) if on 64 bit), is deleted.

    Reboot.

    In my attachment, the latest and good version of ATI Tray Tools is there to use instead.

    If you still have problems, uninstall Avast in safe mode using the tool found here:

    AV Uninstallers - Windows 7 Forums

    Then boot to normal mode and install MSE as it will never cause a bsod and is very light on resources.

    Good luck and enjoy.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, sorry for not knowing, but what would be an ATI overclocking utility?
    The ATITool driver is there and I'm downloading your file now.
     
  17. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    ATI Tray Tools is an example of what would install that driver. There are others but I can't say which they are off the top of my head.

    You'd be best off simply going to C:\Windows\System32\drivers and deleting
    ATITool.sys

    Then reboot. Run Ccleaner to clean the registry. If you don't do overclocking, then forget about my attachment and don't install it.
     
  18. leeti

    leeti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, deleted the driver, installed your file and used CCleaner.
     
  19. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Sounds good.

    Keep your fingers crossed for no bsod. If one happens though, follow the advice about Avast and MSE, above.

    As always, please keep us informed of progress or lack thereof.
     

Share This Page

Loading...