A few questions - need to be answered please

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by AsayisArts, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. AsayisArts

    AsayisArts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I got the beta earlier this week and i find that alot of things work great! just some things don't install, not very much a problem but manly opera, my favourite browser, will not install, firefox works fine... has anybody installed opera? if so, please reply saying how you did it?

    I run dual screen and was wondering if anybody knows how to stretch the toolbar over both screens?

    that's all, thank you for reading!

    AsayisArts
     
  2. Moosetek13

    Moosetek13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    5
    Don't know about Opera, don't use it.

    No to the second question. (you mean Taskbar, right?)
     
  3. AsayisArts

    AsayisArts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah ok, yeah taskbar sorry
     
  4. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I hve had no problems installing Opera on any of the windows 7 releases. (My browser of choice)
     
  5. AsayisArts

    AsayisArts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, perhaps it could have been a falty download, you and another person have said that their opera works on win7, so yeah, falty download, i'm downloading again. thanks!
     
  6. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I'm running opera 9.63 with no problems on win7 beta :cool:

    when you say "would not install" what exactly happened ??
     
  7. AsayisArts

    AsayisArts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I started installation, it went to "extracting files" and then it quits and windows comes up saying "windows installer has stopped working"...

    hm, i downloaded it again, same problem...
     
    #7 AsayisArts, Jan 22, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2009
  8. TedMcGinley

    TedMcGinley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had the same issue with another installer...i went through the whole 'finding a solution' thing, and after the next windows update, got a solution sent to my UAC. here's what it said. follow the directions, and it should install with no problems.

    Solve a problem with Windows 7 beta
    An issue with the Customer Experience Improvement Program (CEIP) client in Windows 7 beta is causing Explorer and some MSI-based installers to stop working properly.
    To solve this problem, follow these steps:

    1. Click the Start button [​IMG], click All Programs, and then click Accessories.
    2. Right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator. [​IMG] In the User Account Control window, verify that Program name is Windows Command Processor, and then click Yes.
    3. In the Administrator: Command Prompt window, type or paste the following text at the prompt:
      reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SQMClient\Windows\DisabledSessions /va /f
    4. Press Enter to install the solution.
    5. If The operation completed successfully displays, close the Administrator: Command Prompt window to complete this procedure. If "ERROR: Access is denied" displays, repeat this procedure from the top, making sure you clicked Run as administrator in step two.
     
  9. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I don't think Opera has an MSI based installer, as it is a self extracting .exe, but the solution could work, but I don't know is it is needed to go to that level. I hate deleting thing from the registry! If you do, make sure you export the part you are changing, so that you can import it again.

    Anyway, why not try the link again. This is the one I use, from the source
    Opera Web Browser | Faster & safer | Download the new Internet browsers free
     
  10. AsayisArts

    AsayisArts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you! i tried it and it worked :D thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...