Windows 7 A new and improved Clonezilla imaging tool

As some of you may know I've been using Clonezilla for a few months as my primary backup (imaging program).
Clonezilla replaced the Partimage I had been using for years.
It is much more flexible.
The version I originally began using was Clonezilla-live1.2.3-27.
Because most live programs work much quicker when installed and run from a USB flash drive that
is what I've been using.

The old version worked great and I never thought to check for updates.
Recently while offering my 2 cents on a question posted at another forum about what imager to use I
checked the Clonezilla website.

I was surprised to see that there had been several updates since I installed that older version.

They developer folks have been busy indeed.
The latest stable release's are

Clonezilla-live-1.2-5-17-i686.iso

Clonezilla-live 1.2.5-17-i486.iso

Clonezilla-live 1.2.5-17-amd64.iso

.zip versions of the above are available as well as Ubuntu based versions.

The version that got my attention was the i686 version, optimized for multi-core processors.

The standard versions are based on Debian Sid and utilize the 2.6.32-12 kernel.

I quickly D\L the i686 .iso and installed it on my 2 GB Micro flash drive.

I used the Windows version of Unetbootin 442 (unetbootin is another very useful tool that appears to be under furious development) to
install the .iso on my Flash drive.

UNetbootin - Homepage and Downloads (now at version 471).

Another tool (for Windows only) from sourceforge to create live USB's of a whole bunch of Linx distros is "Universal-USB-installer" now at v1.6.5.

http://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal-usb...-easy-as-1-2-3/

Since the latest version of clonezilla in the Unetbootin distribution is a very old one I just ignored the dropdown entirely and selected the diskimage radio button and browsed to my D\L'd .iso and clicked OK.

A couple of minutes the Flash drive was ready.