Activation prompts in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Mike, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    Rearm Windows 7 Evaluation Builds

    Just as you could do during the release of the Windows Vista pre-releases, betas, and release candidates, the Software Licensing Manager in Windows 7 allows you to "re-arm" a Windows 7 operating system that was installed without a product key. This process is documented on Microsoft TechNet:

    In Windows 7:

    Launch the Command Console:

    Go to Start -> Search -> cmd
    Right click "cmd" and Run As Administrator

    In the console type:

    slmgr -rearm

    This will "re-arm" your Windows 7 evaluation for 30 days, but the number of times you can do this is limited to 3, giving you a maximum of 120 days.
     
  2. DanaoFA

    DanaoFA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This trick works with build 6956???​
     
  3. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    YEs indeed it does. I installed 6956 on a crap computer just to test out the theory and it worked. It resets it to a full nother 30 day eval. I do not know how many times though you can rearm it. I have not tested that out ye.
     
  4. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Silly MS. Shame on them for making it so easy to do this... HAHAHA
     
  5. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    haha maybe they want it to be this easy for the operating system to get out considering how bad the perception on vista was.
     
  6. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    You can in fact do this on Vista evaluations and other software. It is actually a supported method of resetting the activation. But any way, you can only do it 3 times as tested in VMWare. :)
     
  7. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Also I found out that if you image the hard drigve and reinstall it it will reset the count all the way back. I did this successfully after having 6801 installed for a month.
     
  8. RandysSOHC

    RandysSOHC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like a good trick!
    I'll be using this if I don't have a new build/beta by time this 30days is up!

    :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...