Adding Menus to Start Menu

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by tomservo, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. tomservo

    tomservo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Windows XP and earlier, I could paste a folder into the Start Menu folder, and when I opened start menu, I would get an expandable folder right alongside Programs. I'd like to know how I can do that in Windows 7. I have a folder in which I put shortcuts to documents I use often. I could pin it to the Start Menu, but when clicking on it, it opens an explorer window with the shortcuts. I want to have an expandable menu like the Start Menu. I was able to do this in XP just by pasting that folder inside the Start Menu folder but that doesn't seem to work in Windows 7. How do I do that?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    It me a while to find this also as i like to create folders and have a tidy start menu/all programs section.
    If you open the start menu and then right-click where it says 'All programs' you'll see where it says 'All users' which is where you can create the folders you mean.. See screenshot.
     
  3. tomservo

    tomservo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I tried that, but even when I pasted my shortcuts folder alongside "Programs", it still only appeared inside "All Programs" and not as an expandable "Start Menu"-style folder, i.e. when clicking it, it opened in Windows Explorer instead.

    A question about your screen shot: How do you get other programs added and deleted from above "All Programs", like how do you get "Command Prompt" and "Speed Prompt" in there? That's really what I'm trying to do.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    You can always 'drag and drop' your folder to the place arrowed (above the thin blue line) and this should, after use, create the 'jump list' that you require..
     
  5. Dudu Arbel

    Dudu Arbel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still do not manage to do this.
    If you look at the start menu - you can see 'Documents' with a small arrow next to it that opens another menu.

    This is what I want to do!

    I want to press 'Start' them press an icon 'My Programs' and then press on another icon 'My Application'.
    I do not want to be forced to click another click (on 'All Programs' e.g.)

    It was very simple to do so on WinXP - simply drag a folder with my shortcuts to the start menu.

    Is this even possible on Win7?

    Tx
    Dudu
     

Share This Page

Loading...