AdwCleaner

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by ObiwanRei, Jun 7, 2015.

  1. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  3. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    You really should run Malwarebytes and Hitman Pro. V9 is one of those infections that also can change all of your internet browser shortcuts as well so it seems like your infected even after you've cleaned your system (and this just reinfects you).

    Check the properties of any Firefox/IE/Chrome shortcuts you have, chances are you'll see http://www.v9.com appended to their launch command.
     
  4. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did download and run JWT, and then i ran again AdwCleaner... sorry, it is still there...
     
  5. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    I shall try your suggestion and check it. I'll keep you informed of the results. Thank you very much.
     
  6. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry late visit and late reply. I did all of your suggestions, but ... today i ran again adwcleaner v.9 is still there. couldn't get rid of it. i did also system restore, it didn't help...
     
  7. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't want to create a new thread. can i post my question here?
    Recently, when i check my laptop, i encountered a winSxS folder and there are so many files which i don't understand since august 2013 till now. I googled what is winsxs folder and do the cleanup.. e.g. disk cleanup, dism-startcomponentcleanup... but it did not delete these files. My question is can i delete it manually from WinSxS folder... only the old files... 2013 and 2014.

    Thank you very much... Sorry, i am really new in the computer world, but i learn so much in exploring the internet and searching through google.
     
  8. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling your browsers?
     
  9. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    314
    in Windows 7*, 8 or 8.1 you run the cleanmgr.exe tool to remove these files;
    winsxs3.

    * in 7 this was added by a update patch so if you don't see the option highlighted in red on the image then you need to update your copy of Windows first.

    No you cann't!

    In all cases this tool only removes the old patch-backup files (after a system re-boot) and of course that then means you cann't un-install any of your Microsoft patches once this is done.
     
  10. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thank you.. I'll leave it as is..
     
  11. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1

    I did experiment on this... I have deleted Secure Preferences and run AdwCleaner... v9.com is gone. I restore Secure Preferences and again, run AdwCleaner.. no more www.v9.com found... I hope I have succeeded..

    I'll check again tomorrow and see if it is really gone.
     
  12. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1

    I don't want to try using Hitman Pro.. I googled it and have read somewhere that it has a bad reputation and bad reviews.. Thanks.
     
  13. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    I don't know where its bad reputation comes from, it's a good tool. Would I use HitMan Pro alone? No. I would use it in combination with other removal tools. The good thing about it is that it's cloud based, and doesn't have to install to run. I would go ahead and run it on your system and see if it finds any leftovers.
     
  14. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1



    "I wouldn't recommend anybody to use it on the forums, simply because it's quite unreliable and does not produce any logs that would help you pin down what exactly hitmanpro deleted to render the PC unbootable.

    To give an example, last I used hitman pro, it would not disinfect infected drivers, but simply delete them. Meaning it would delete core Windows drivers that had been patched and you would have to figure out which of the many crucial drivers of Windows was missing.



    So yes, both are legitimate programs. However, unless you really know what you are doing, you can harm your computer. If you think you have a malware problem, I'd suggest you to start a new topic in the >>Am I Infected<< subforum instead of using these tools to solve your problem yourself. Also, please read >>this<< before starting your topic."

    Hello Mr.Josephur, I've got the above from Bleeping Computer... Honestly, I am afraid to run and use Hitman Pro.
     
  15. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    Obiwan I've used it on hundreds of systems and never had it delete a driver, but of course that can happen. (hell that can happen with just about any security software). I run a PC shop and put about 3-5 PC's a day through HitMan Pro with no problem, along with MalwareBytes, ADW Cleaner, JRT Removal.. etc

    You should *ALWAYS* create a System Restore Point before using antivirus or malware removing programs, just in case. I use ERUNT, have for a long time now, because I don't count on System Restore working properly.
     
  16. ObiwanRei

    ObiwanRei Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thank you Mr Josephur, am really afraid and wouldn't take the risk of running Hitman Pro. Thanks very much for your help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...