Windows 7 Ahci

Yes, the motherboard should support AHCI. It will be in bios settings in the hard drive settings where you probably have options or IDE/AHCI/RAID.

Are you wanting to hot swap your internal drives or an e-Sata one?

Well I certainly can't see any mention in the BIOS Sata configuration , there is no option that let's me set ACHI .

I have a Coolermaster case with a HDD docking bay at the top , so it's not eSATA

If you have this board yourself, can you show me on what page in the manual it states that you can set ACHI ? Please

Thank you

Ralph

Check the Bios, Main-Storage Configuration-SataConfiguration (Enhanced). Page 2-8 in the manual.

Hmmm this is tough ,

I checked my BIOS 0405 , and I have the option to select Enhanced , how ever CANNOT see or have any options to select AHCI

And if I leave it in Enhanced , it won't hot swap any drives. This board is brand new , I would expect it to support hot swap .

Are you actually hot swapping yourself , or are you just telling me it supports AHCI , because nothing in the manual and or in the BIOS that

says AHCI ...

Ralph

Well I'm running my P5p43td pro (Bios 7.05) in AHCI mode and using it with 3x sata hd's and a sata dvdrw happily for the last 6 months, the USB3 flavour of this board should be identical in that regard.

FILE0014.jpg

FILE0012.jpg

FILE0013.jpg

Attachments

• FILE0012.JPG
    FILE0012.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 562
Last edited:
Thanks for the screen shots , Your board is "Pro" and you have RAID on board , mine doesn't .

And I think it has something to do with the South Bridge not having a "r" after ICH10(R) , yours does , and

mine doesn't. Could there anything I have turned off in my BIOS so that that ACHI option totally disappeared ?

Anyone ? ? ?