Windows 7 Another 'freezes at Completing Installation' thread

sreenath

This is honestly ridiculous I see like millions of these threads, what is wrong with Microsoft? This is supposed to be user-friendly. I am relatively savvy but this problem has proven to be extremely difficult and obscure.

I am a CS student so I got a download and valid serial of Win 7 Pro from MSDNAA. I burned it, and everytime I try to install it freezes at the very end, at the Completing Installation part.

I have read the forums and tried the following:
Turning on SATA ACHI in bios and verifying that SATA is in native mode
Keeping all USB unplugged, in fact nothing but Power PS/2 and Monitor(DVI)
Flashing my BIOS to the latest version

The next thing I am going to try is to load drivers. How do I actually do this? Do I need to burn drivers to a cd then insert it or what? In another thread the same nvidia driver that is for my card is suggested to fix the problem by loading it into the install. So I just want to know how to load it. Also do I need to load SATA/audio drivers?

Specs:
Gigabyte GA-P965-S3 rev1.0 with new F14 BIOS
2GB OCZ PC6400 Ram at normal voltage
Intel C2D E6400 at stock speed
GeForce 7600GT video card
PC P&C 610W Silencer, 500GB SATA HDD, 20x DVD+-RW drive

You are certainly right about there being many threads concerning this situation. I am guessing you did not find anything that helped.

I have read the forums and tried the following:
Turning on SATA ACHI in bios and verifying that SATA is in native mode
Keeping all USB unplugged, in fact nothing but Power PS/2 and Monitor(DVI)
Flashing my BIOS to the latest version
I do not know why folks would recommend going to AHCI. This is an advanced controller and might be good for large hard drives, but I would not think it would solve a problem the IDE mode could not handle.

Unplugging everything you can is good info, and running only one monitor also.