appsvc.exe?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by kyler211, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    The exe of the installed mbam or the exe of the download?
     
  2. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    the exe of the installed bam
     
  3. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    ok. I would now try installing and running mbam again because if it still does not run there is still a problem which needs investigating.
     
  5. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    the same error still pops up :(
    it still cant find the file specified, even though i click the exe directly and not through a shortcut.
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Try right clicking on it and selecting "run as administrator".
     
  7. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    didnt change anything, still makes the same error
     
  8. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
  9. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    it crashes when i try to open it
    it opens the mbam but it crashes right after

    actually it crashes when it tries to scan
     
  10. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Have you tried running each and every one of these in turn?

    chameleon.exe
    chameleon.com
    mbam-chameleon.pif
    mbam-chameleon.scr
    svchost.exefirefox.exe
    firefox.exe
    firefox.com
    firefox.pif
    firefox.scr
    iexplore.exe
    winlogon.exe
    rundll32.exe
     
  11. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i have ran all of them, if i run them they open some console then opens mbam which instantly crashes, when i open mbam without using them and try to scan with it, it crashes
     
  12. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have to get to bed since i have school tomorrow, sorry but im afraid we have to continue this tomorrow
     
  13. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    ok I'll give it some more thought.
     
  14. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    It may not be the smartest thing to double click the exe, as many programs may have several exes, linked in various ways. You should use the Shortcut in Programs, or the shortcut on desktop.

    Further, "A System Restore error would only appear if someone was actually trying to run System Restore in an effort to fix a problem." - http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answers/id-2014229/system-restore-error.html

    Might be very true. Leading my thoughts to the fact that it's a driver / other installation problem. Instead of restore, you might try "hard way" uninstallation of anything installed lately, especially if you have used some automated updates. Not to forget, quite often these problems are faster resolved by reinstalling Windows altogether, instead of fighting for light years with isolated problems. A good move is to have Windows System installed in one place, and have personal files in another place = partition or disk. That way you can reinstall Windows without having personal files affected.

    Hope you get it fixed - sincere hope!
     
  15. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i choose which directory maxspyware installs to? my cd drive c doesnt have enough space
     
  16. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Your cd drive is drive C? Do you mean your system drive? How much space do you have free on the drive and how much does the software require?
     
  17. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    it needs 600mb and i have 400, i have nothing non-essential in that drive, my antivirus takes about 5gb of the space and the rest of the stuff are system files and alienware software
     
  18. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    If you have hibernation on you could turn that off and probably save all you need.
     
  19. kyler211

    kyler211 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i turn off hibernation mode?
     
  20. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    Run command mode by right clicking and run as administrator. In the command window enter:

    powercfg.exe -h off

    Reboot
     

Share This Page

Loading...