Are you using Windows 7 Beta 1 as your main Operating System ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Jordan, Jan 11, 2009.

?

Are you using Windows 7 Beta 1 as your main OS (Operating System) ?

  1. Yes I am and I'm loving it !

    65.9%
  2. No, I do not have any intention to do so, I just want to test it out !

    5.8%
  3. Yes/No: I have two operating systems and use them equally

    28.3%
  1. Jordan

    Jordan Guest

    Poll :

    Are you using Windows 7 Beta 1 as your main Operating System ?

    ----------------------------

    Yes I am :D
     
  2. muyoso

    muyoso New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2 seperate computers, yes. Of course, I am a glutton for punishment, I used Vista when it was in beta, I used osx86 for a while as well. I am fine with using an OS that isnt exactly perfectly stable to a point, and when I reach that point, I revert back to XP.
     
  3. Jordan

    Jordan Guest

    You and I think alike friend ! You are amazing ! :D

    God Bless you

    Jordan
     
  4. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    I'm using it as my only OS on two PCs.
    I have of course backed up all my data do a separate partition/hard drive as well as an external hard drive.
    I would hope you've done the same, just in case.
     
  5. Jordan

    Jordan Guest

    Yes I did the same, I backed everything up to an external USB hard drive. I've also got a Vista image, just in case
     
  6. muyoso

    muyoso New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha, you guys and your "backing up".
     
  7. Skin87

    Skin87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm lovin' it, just like McDonald's lol
     
  8. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Backing up is the first thing you ALWAYS do before installing ANY Beta software. There is a reason after all that it is beta haha.:razz:
     
  9. muyoso

    muyoso New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    But if you back everything up, you miss out on the fun of running recovery programs and scanning the hard drive for hours. I refuse to miss out on this integral part of the beta experience. I never back up anything. Of course, part of the reason i never back up is that the only things that touch my C:\ drives are documents and programs, every media file is stored away on my server.
     
  10. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    As Kyle and Iroken said. I would not run a Beta as my main OS.
    Maybe the word "backup" is incorrect? I keep all my personal files, hundreds of photos and letters, music etc, on my main, mature OS, and also have them saved to DVD's. They would be irreplaceable and no recovery program would help if the Beta went sour.
    I notice, Myuso, that you "revert back to XP", so presumably you do have a backup?
     
  11. vahnx

    vahnx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lot's of people say you should not run a beta as your main OS, but Paul Thurrot and many others say it's way more stable than Vista and highly recommend running it as your main OS over Vista. I currently still use XP as my main OS for speed, but I also have 7 and Ubuntu installed.
     
  12. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Are we talking about the same thing. A main OS, means, to me, one where you are storing all new data and file. As an alternative, but in dail use for testing and getting familiar with -OK
    I do not know what the "others" said, but Paul Thurrot certainly would never reccomend running a Beta OS as the main OS. If you have definite plans to hack the activation, which we cannot discuss here, or you intend to buy, and overwrite, with the real thing. Then you are on a reasonable path.
    What Paul Thurrot actuall said was,
    quote "That said, you're mileage may vary, so approach any install of this Beta with caution, and be sure to back up all of your important data ahead of time. I have not upgraded any Windows Vista PCs to the Beta yet,"
     
  13. suprra_girl

    suprra_girl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL Yup it's my main os on my notebook now. Couple of little issues but nothing major.

    I have acronis true image and made an image donkeys ago of a fresh xp install with all drivers and acronis so it's easy as pie to say goodbye hehe

    My documents are located on external drives so I don't have a problem losing my stuff, except if my hdd's die :eek: lol
     
  14. Phillhere

    Phillhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes.. one of of my laptops... ( having " true imaged" it first)
    though I am increasingly surprised at how much better than vista ( on the other two) this is...
    short of something drastic happening in the next week, I may change them over too.....
     
  15. Stickywulf

    Stickywulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Even files on your server are at risk. There is warnings throughout the Windows 7 release notes about corrupted mp3 files. Even if the files are not on your local hard drive they can still be corrupted. To be safe you would want to make the files on your server "read only".
     
    john3347 and (deleted member) like this.
  16. can3gxw

    can3gxw New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the beta on Saturday on MY main PC - my wife's laptop still has XP. I can't afford a divorce lawyer... LOL

    A few things aren't working as I'd like, but I'll get it figured out. I'm also going to install it on my HTPC tonight and see how THAT works! :D

    And yes - I have taken GHOST images of each "before".... then I can restore it if things get too wonky - or just fry and reinstall. LOVE BETA TESTING! Up down, up down, up down... who need aerobics.

    BUT - I am thinking that there won't be many downs with Win7... boo-yah!
     
  17. JohnCiber

    JohnCiber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, i'm using windows 7 as my main OS :razz:
     
  18. john3347

    john3347 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    36
    I have a dedicated computer for "experimental" OS's and Applications. It is connected to my "main" computer through a KVM switch. I guess I don't feel too comfortable all the way on the edge as some people do.
     
  19. dadognt0wn

    dadognt0wn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    YEs I am...

    And now my dvd-rom doesn't work!:frown:
     
  20. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    There are threads all over the web on this DVD problem.Even a couple on this site. I am going to dedicate some real time browsing some of the hi tech sites and see if there is a historic solution anywhere.
     

Share This Page

Loading...