As soon as I finish installing windows 7 my computer shutsdown for a half hour to a hour

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by lget6, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. lget6

    lget6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The title of the thread says it all. When I finish installing windows 7 on my Gateway MT6451 my computer shuts down and files become corrupted, forcing me to install the OS again with the same problem repeating. So now I am on vista and things are running smoothly but I don't want to be on vista, I paid too much money not to use my windows 7. I thought the issue was the bios, so I reinstall my bios and attempted again, no dice. Next I checked to see if the computer was over heating, so I made sure my fan was running and the temperature of the CPU. Both checked out to be alright. I am wondering though if my cpu is still causing the problem. My motherboard previously had an amd TL-50 cpu in it and I replaced it with a amd MK-36. Both are socket s1's but my TL-50 was a Turion 64 X2 while my MK-36 is a Turion 64. I just don't know what to do. I am tired and lost. Please help me.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Are you doing a completely clean install of Windows 7, booting from the install dvd and installing to a cleanly formatted drive?
     
  3. lget6

    lget6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that what i am doing.
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Difficult to understand why 7 is causing a problem when vista runs ok - the two are not that far removed from each other. Have you got any unusual or nan-standard devices attached which which might be causing a driver problem? When you say files get corrupted exactly what do you mean and what sympts/error reporting happens?
     
  5. lget6

    lget6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    No unusual devices are connected. After the computer shuts down and I restart it, there is a black screen that comes up saying files are corrupted and so-fourth.
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Sounds like either the input medium (dvd) or the output medium (hard drive) has problems. As Vista seems to be running ok it seems the dvd is favourite candidate but then I'd expect errors to be reported during reads on the install. I'd first try running a full hard drive check - goto your hard drive manufacturer's website and download their manufacturer specific software to run a full check.
     
  7. Thanos Kiouris

    Thanos Kiouris New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think that the problem is in ram .So you have two memories or much more or you have only one?
     
  8. Nibiru2012

    Nibiru2012 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    18
    Sounds like RAM could be causing this, if it's bad or defective it will cause install issues. Sometimes having mixed brands of RAM will also create problems.

    Also, double-check the install DVD to be sure it's not scratched and such.
     

Share This Page

Loading...