Back to windows 7 Forum

Discussion in 'The Water Cooler' started by Sonny, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    It is good to back. I have been gone for quite sometime and it feels good now to be back reading what is going on. I was hoping I could find an answer to my little problem also. It seems that this new tower I got won't let me do a clean install. The computer is fine, it is just that when I got it I started checking out if everything would work.

    When I put my windows 7 disk in and reboot it doesn't want to work. Instead it takes me to the desk top. I took it back to the computer shop where I bought it and they tried it and believe it or not it worked fine. When I got home I tried it again with the same results I had before. I am beginning to think this thing doesn't like me. I went into my bios and everything is ok there. I just don't know what to make of it. :waah:
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  3. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Thank you cybercore! I have checked and my CD-DVD Rom is set as my first boot device. I noticed last night that it seems as if it is not reading my keyboard. I have a wireless keyboard and am thinking about getting a usb keyboard and see if that works.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Glad you're back consider this a hearty welcome, great to see your around again as you were missed.
    As to your question, yep, it is almost definitely your wireless keyboard causing the issue as the drivers are not present during the legacy mode prompt to press any key to boot from CD/DVD it's just going on to load the existing OS. So if you have an old PS2 or USB keyboard you will probably be able to overcome this issue. For a USB keyboard you may have to check the BIOS and see if there is an ENABLE/DISABLE .... USB Legacy Support option, if so you'll want to enable that.
     
  5. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Thank you for the welcome Trouble and thanks for confirming what I thought about the keyboard. I am going to try and get a hold of a friend to see if he has an extra I can use to try it. If it works and I think it will now. I will then pick up one to keep for the purpose of formating.
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    I once had such problem a while back when I couldn't install XP because I needed to press 'F2' to accept the license agreement and my 'F2' didn't work. I then had a peculiar multimedia keyboard that had its 'F' row keys locked by default. It took me a couple of hours to figure that out.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I have finally got it to work. I went back into my bios and enabled the USB Keyboard. It was disabled. Thanks cybercore and Trouble for your help.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...