Black Screen.. White Mouse.. Help!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by vixen, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. vixen

    vixen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Dell Studio 17. I've had it for less than a year now. I opened it to log in..and usually I just use the fingerprint reader or type my login, but this time I clicked on "Switch Accounts" (or whatever that button is).. and it completely froze. I attempted to reboot and got a black screen w/ a white mouse cursor.

    Here's what I have done (because I have been googling this):
    - Start up in Safe Mode (same screen/mouse)
    - CTL+ALT+DEL to death until I get a task manager (nothing happens)
    - Start from Last Known Good Configuration (don't have one)
    - Startup Repair (says nothing is wrong)
    - System Restore (I have no backups)

    Luckily I don't have too much on the computer.. I do, however, DO NOT want to reinstall WoW. LOL
    What can I do, short of wiping the machine, to fix this?!
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hmm.......weird one....

    You say you can get the task manager to start?

    If so, click file along the top and then click 'new task'. In the box that opens type 'chkdsk' (without the quotes) and hit enter. A command prompt window should then open and hopefully chkdsk will run through and hopefully fix any bad sectors you have..
    I'm not sure if this will prove to be a solution but it's perhaps worth a try.
     
  3. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Kemical- This would be too technical for me, would you know how to do this? Is it correct ? I'm conscience of the black screen KSOD thing ever since the mini re-director wire wrapper engine thing- you know ? Personally, I think Microsoft is trying to blow hardware out.... Maybe I'm just paranoid. Fix for Windows Vista Black Screen of Death, aka KSOD « the back room tech...
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,803
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    It may work Celestra although can't say for sure.. If you followed the instuctions to the letter (maybe print them out) then you should be ok.
     
  5. vixen

    vixen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could *not* get task manager to open up.

    I decided to just open a cmd prompt from my install disk and save my files (including my addons and wtf fodler) to a usb... then i reinstalled windows.

    apparently, though, it did prompt me w/ a notification that b/c i had a previous installation it would save my files to a windows.old (i think that's it) file. >_<
     

Share This Page

Loading...