Blue Screen on Internet connection

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by tppramod, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. tppramod

    tppramod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    The problem occurs only when connected to the internet (Broadband). Here it goes.....

    While surfing or especially when downloading something the system suddenly enters the blue screen and restarts automatically. Also, sometimes the internet connection drops (Reason not known) and does not connect again. In this case the only way to get connected again is to restart the PC!. Enabling the network also sometimes takes me into the blue screen error. Due to this problem i am connected to the internet only for a short duration of less than 5 mins. approx. Please note that the distant between the Modem and my PC is 20 Meters and is connected by a network wire. I hope the distance can be 100 Meters max.

    I was using the same internet connection with my old Windows XP machine and never had any problems. Is it something related to any hardware failure in my PC or windows vista problem? Please give some useful solution to this.

    My System Information
    Dell Vostro 410 (New PC)
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    Intel Quad 6600 Mhz
    Realtek network driver
    128 GB ATI Radeon
    2GB Ram
    500 GB HDD

    Regards,

    Pramod
    New Delhi
    India
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Have you checked that your modem doesn't have/need any firmware updates?
     
  3. alitaylor

    alitaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pramod,

    I have this same problem. Did you ever figure out how to fix it?

    Thanks!
    Ali
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    Try resetting your modem first. There should be a littlle pin hole on the back of the modem or a little reset button, push button or use a paper clip and insert into hole to reset. Do you have a router hooked up to your modem?
     
  5. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    You should post errors related to problem and any mini crash dumps etc....The exact trouble can be singled out that way.
     
  6. alitaylor

    alitaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ended up doing a thorough scan with spybot, ccleaner, and adaware. I then changed the channel on my Time Capsule to 9 and it seemed to have fixed everything!
     
  7. tppramod

    tppramod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ali,

    Yup i found a solution. I just tried a new network cable of 2 meters for testing and it worked perfectly!! So i could not figure it out exactly what was wrong with my previous network cable i.e. because of a long cable of 20 metres or a bad cable?

    Regards,

    Pramod
    New Delhi
    India
     

Share This Page

Loading...