Blue Screen on Startup, Safe Mode fails...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Bar and Shield, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. Bar and Shield

    Bar and Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys.
    Im trying to fix my gf's laptop, the thing is 2 months old and has been running fine so far. She got a Blue Screen while checking the weather online 2 days ago and the screen pops up every time windows starts now, making it very hard to troubleshoot the problem. It usually shows during the Welcome screen but sometimes it managed to load the desktop and play the usual startup jingle, but pops before i can do anything (never get to even move the mouse cursor).

    This happens in safe mode as well, with and without networking. I tried the following so far;
    -Startup Repair (no problems detected)
    -Memory check (no problems)
    -3 system restores from different dates (going back 2 months)
    -No images to go back to
    -Cold startup

    The only thing that works is safe mode with command prompt, but i can't think of anything that i could do in there...

    Nothing has been added or removed from the laptop hardware or software wise between the time the laptop worked and the blue screen. No updates, no new programs, not even a usb drive inserted or removed from the computer.

    I have attached a picture of the screen, im running out of ideas here, if any of you has suggestions please let me know.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Welcome.

    Boot to safe mode + networking. Go to C:\Windows\Minidump

    Copy the files in there to any other folder then zip them and attach the zip here to a post.
     
  3. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello and Welcome !

    Do you have RAID drive / Intel matrix storage ? Stop error 0x70860002 is found associated with iaStor.sys mostly on Toshiba Laptop. Since you said he only have access to Safe mode with command prompt. Go to command then type in DriverQuery see if you have iaStor.sys. If you find it then go to cd Windows\System32\Driver and ren iaStor.sys iaStor.old and reboot the System in Normal mode.

    Post us the results
    Captain
     
  4. Bar and Shield

    Bar and Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update and answer

    I can't boot in Safe mode with networking either, and i can't copy files from the laptop to a usb drive from command prompt...

    After trying to boot once more i got a different message, iastore.sys failed, but any subsequent tries resulted in the previous blue screen... weird.

    Then one try to boot in safe mode with command prompt, which has been the only way to boot so far, somehow failed and a startup repair was automatically started. While my previous attempts at a startup repair resulted in "no problems found" this one found a problem but was unable to fix it. Im attaching a picture of the results.

    I just re tried to boot in command prompt and was able to get through, so thats all i got now.

    Ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Bar and Shield

    Bar and Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't read this before my last post, my apologies.

    Tried your idea, restarted in normal and got to the desktop before it blue screened again. Got the iastor.sys failed message, plus this time the crash dump failed, which is new.

    CHKDSK found 0 bad sectors

    This is a Sony Vaio VPCEB24FD, no raid, no idea what an intel storage matrix is...
     
    #5 Bar and Shield, Dec 6, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2010
  6. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    From Safe Mode with Command Prompt try to delete iastor.sys and see reboot it and test it.
     
  7. Bar and Shield

    Bar and Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    No luck, with iastor gone it can't boot at all and i am sent to startup repair, which finds a problem but is unable to fix it.
     
  8. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Boot to safe mode + networking. Download and install the latest Intel storage driver package from Intel.com and install.
     
  9. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    If nothing works run a Repair Install
     
  10. Bar and Shield

    Bar and Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so i had to white flag and turn to my last resort, F10 the thing and do a complete recovery from the partition. Guess what? Blue screened at the "Preparing for first use" screen. Iastor.sys message again, so im done, i give up, i'm sending it in for repairs...

    Thank you all for trying to help though, really appreciated.
     
  11. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    lol....

    and the repair they are going to make is to install the driver from Intel.com.
     
  12. Bar and Shield

    Bar and Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think you read my entire posts, i can't boot in safe mode with networking, the only thing that works is safe mode with command prompt, how do i install the drivers from there? Plus since the laptop worked fine when we got it, how can a recovery that returns everything to factory settings not solve the problem?

     
  13. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Simple. Put the driver on USB stick, CD or DVD.

    Install and it will be fine.

    While you're at it, you should update the ethernet and wlan drivers the same way, from the manufacturers' sites.
     
  14. Bar and Shield

    Bar and Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't recognized my usb stick, so burnt to dvd and managed to install. Still getting the blue screen on startup... I think i heard laughter coming from inside the laptop after that... i think its evil.

     
  15. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    If you'd like, post the actual latest dump and we can be on to seeing all the problems and what they are. Zip it, bring it to another machine then attach here.

    C:\Windows\Minidump
     
  16. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
  17. pynn100

    pynn100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys i've been trying everything you have said and hothing has worked! im on safe mode networking right now with the same problem. I couldnt figure out how to attach a zip so i uploaded the minidump to mediafire.Minidump.zip Thanks a lot!
     
  18. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    No, you didn't:

    Code:
    3: kd> lmvm iastor
    start             end                 module name
    fffff880`0129a000 fffff880`014a2000   iaStor   T (no symbols)           
        Loaded symbol image file: iaStor.sys
        Image path: \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\iaStor.sys
        Image name: iaStor.sys
        Timestamp:        Fri Oct 02 15:58:50 2009 (4AC65B7A)
        CheckSum:         00089194
        ImageSize:        00208000
        Translations:     0000.04b0 0000.04e4 0409.04b0 0409.04e4
    
     
  19. pynn100

    pynn100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im on a differnt computer now... Alright so I downloaded CPU-z to my BSOD computer, I can see the CPUtab with info in it but the spd shows eveything blank... Am I doing something wrong?
     
  20. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    No, you're the rare one of many that could actually disregard my signature. You need to update that Intel storage driver to 2010 version, as I've said many, many times.

    CPU-Z doesn't work in safe mode, anyhow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...