Bootmgr is missing....at my wits ends

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by MogRules, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. MogRules

    MogRules New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all, sorry for yet another post on this subject but I have tried all the other ones to no avail....so I installed Windows 7 way back during the beta and right from the get go have had this problem. I install fine and get into windows then take out the DVD and low and behold bootmgr is missing yada yada yada....put the DVD back in and it loads just fine. System specs are as follows...
    Asus A8N-E
    AMD A64 X2 3800+ 939
    SAMSUNG 3Gigs DDR RAM PC 3200
    WD 200 GB SATA Primary (windows is installed here)
    160 GB Slave IDE for storage

    I have tried thus far running the repair option and getting no results from that, according to the repair options there is nothing wrong. I have tried removing the storage drive altogether thinking that it might be looking at the wrong drive and got the same Bootmgr is missing message. I looked inside diskmgmt and the primary drive IS set with the boot option....not sure where else to go with this. I installed with a clean format and I do not using dual OS's.
     
  2. textureDnB

    textureDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    6
    can you post a screencap of discmanager? Perhaps also the boot tab of msconfig.exe.
     
  3. MogRules

    MogRules New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    There ya go, I hope :)

    PS..You can ignore the H drive that is my blackberry and not always there.
     
  4. jmanjeff

    jmanjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    what drive do you have set in your BIOS to boot drive 0 or drive 1
    your boot drive is 1
     
    #4 jmanjeff, Jul 30, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  5. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I see the boot manager on C:, but yor OS is on F: ?
    I would suggest the quick way out of this is to download Easybcd and useits facilities to rewrite the boot manager in C:
     
  6. textureDnB

    textureDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    6
    It appears you previously Or currently have an OS on F: because it's marked as active and system. The first active partition is where windows installs bootmanager making it the system partition.Startup repair thinks that if it moves bootmanager it's going to hose the OS on F:. The above application will probably work DaveHC seems to know his stuff but unfortunately i can offer no instruction as to it's use if you post back dave may notice and be able to clarify or it may be self explanatory. If you can use Discmanager to unmark F: as active startup repair may then recognize the problem normally you would do this in the boot tab of msconfig but it knows there is no OS on F: so it's not listed. You basically have to lose the active and system marks on F: so startup repair will recognize a problem last resort prior to reinstall would be to backup F: and reformat F: (probably using linux live CD or some type of bootable partition manager) then you will be in a no boot situation that startup repair can repair it may take a couple of passes. Post back your results before you try the next technique as they do become more dangerous as we go.
     
  7. MogRules

    MogRules New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm.....I will give it a shot and let you know what I come up with
     
  8. MogRules

    MogRules New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would I use Diskmanager to do that? I can not seem to find a way to edit the stats on the drive in there....
     
  9. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi Mog,

    Disk Management doesn't give the option to mark a partition inactive.

    Your best bet is to go into Bios and make sure Disk 1 is first in HD boot order.

    Then try startup repair - 4 or 5 runs may be needed.
     
  10. MogRules

    MogRules New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went into the bios but no options to specify which Hard Drive I wanted to boot from first so I did the next best thing, unplugged the IDE drive and then ran the repair utility (dunno why I did not think of that sooner) and that did it right away, it found the problem fixed it and I am up and running properly again :) thank you all for your assistance, I appreciate it!
     
  11. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi Mog,

    Disconnecting the drive has the same effect - as you found out.

    If you get the same problem when you reconnect the storage drive, swap them around.

    Plug the lead from your 7 drive into the motherboard socket that the storage drive was originally in , and the Storage drive into the one 7 drive was originally in.

    Great you got it working:D
     
  12. jmanjeff

    jmanjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem you had that is why i said to check your BIOS for boot order , Glad you got it fixed
     
  13. MogRules

    MogRules New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would try that if I had anymore problems but unfortunatly the Storage drive that the system thought was the boot drive is an IDE drive while the Main Windows 7 drive is an ATA....so I can not really just switch them up :S

    Luckily everything worked out just fine :) thanks again.
     
  14. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    If you are doing this and get a missing boot manager put your W-7 disc in machine if yo are trying to boot into W7 and set boot order to boot from CD ROM first then do a repair after you get past the first set up screen asking for you language. This will repair the boot manager
     

Share This Page

Loading...