Windows 7 Both 32 and 64 bit will be included/

Discussion in 'Windows News' started by JoCola, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. JoCola

    JoCola New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard Windows Windows & Peremium and Ultimate will both come with 2 discs, one for 32 bit and 64 bit, so does this mean if I have both a 64 bit and 32 machine, I only have to buy one copy?
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    No. You will need to buy two copies. Although both x86 and x64 will come on the same disk, you will only be able to use one at a time.
     
    #2 loathe, Jun 30, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
  3. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Not going to happen. The RC keys are free and can be activated on any number of machines. The retail however will only come with one key, that can only be activated on one machine at a time. If you want to activate 7 on two machines, you will need to buy two copies.
     
  4. Kiwi

    Kiwi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm glad that both versions will be supplied but clearly you are meant to only use one of those and presumably only the last one activated will work without a genuine advantage type warning showing up.
     
  5. JessicaD

    JessicaD New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    13
    Loathe,
    You are correct. For anyone who plans to purchase Windows 7 when it is released October 22nd, you might like to know that you can now pre-order your copy of Windows 7 for a discounted price! For more information, see the Windows 7 Pre-Order offer page here: Windows: Windows 7 Pre-Order Offer
    ***Please note that this is a limited time offer and valid only while supplies last***
    Jessica
    Microsoft Windows Client Team
     
  6. JoCola

    JoCola New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for clearing that up for me, everyone!
     
  7. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    Thanks loathe and Jessica for clearing that up - one guy on another forum had been saying that you could install the full version on two computers, which I was reluctant to believe as I had come across this in the past when I bought a laptop from Dell and I bought the full version of XP Pro at the the time as the salesman had insisted that I could install it on two computers - only to find out later that I couldn't activate it on the 2nd computer I installed it on. I spoke to MS support about this and they confirmed it could only be installed on one computer. I was livid with Dell, but they refused to do anything about it.

    I have now posted these comments on the other forum pointing out the error in the original post.

    Jessica - if you would like to add a follow up comment on the other forum you can see it here:-
    MS Windows 7 Pre-order from £49.99 - AVForums.com (5th post down by Mattclarkie)

    my comments are here:- MS Windows 7 Pre-order from £49.99 - Page 4 - AVForums.com (4th page)

    Thanks
     
  8. dvhughes

    dvhughes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need a Win 7 dual boot, with the 64 bit and 32 bit on my computer. Epson does not have 64 bit drivers for my RX680. Win 7/32 works the printer as if it were Vista.

    Can I buy one copy and get the 32 and 64 bit Win 7, AND install the two OSs on my computer?

    That would be a very big help.

    Dennis
     
  9. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66

    I found a x64 Vista driver for your printer here. Give it a try if you havent. You may need to run in compatibility mode.

    For your next question, yes you can install both x86 and x64 on your computer, but you will only be able to activate one of them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...