Browsers not accessing Internet, everything else able to

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by Navin, Jan 17, 2009.

  1. Navin

    Navin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium, and I have a strange issue with Internet access. I have DSL from a wireless router.

    Whenever I start the computer, there is no issue with Internet access - all applications are able to go online without a problem. However, after a while - anywhere between 30 minutes and three hours - browsers are unable to access the Internet.

    All other apps are able to connect - FileZilla, Windows Media Player, Windows Update - and I am able to ping all websites.

    However, no browser is able to connect - I've tried IE, Firefox, Chrome, Safari and Opera.

    I have ZoneAlarm Pro, and have not been able to figure out anything with its settings. The situation persists even after I shut down ZoneAlarm Pro.

    A restart resolves all of this, and I am able to browse - till the next time it goes 'offline'.

    Anyone faced this issue before? Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?
     
  2. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi! Maybe this is useful: internet freezes momentarily while surfing - dslreports.com Well, it doesn't sound like a low memory problem, and it's not a firewall because you took your security offline. I'll keep checking to see what I can come up with........One problem recently bugging my browser "Flash Crashes". What about a DNS Registry problem?
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,810
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Have you scanned for virus's and spyware?
     
  4. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    If your scans for virus come out clean. Totally un-install Zone Alarm. For some reason some laptops have this kind of problem with Zone Alarm. Somebody said, "he had to completely un-install it to fix his connection".
     
  5. Navin

    Navin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Solved it! I was being an idiot and had overlooked the most basic of things - Internet Properties > Connections > LAN Settings!

    'Automatically detect settings' was unchecked. After I checked it, I haven't faced the issue.

    Thanks for all the answers - I know where to come if I have Vista questions :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...