BSOD after clean install

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by patyvr, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. patyvr

    patyvr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have been having a lot of blue screens for the past few weeks. I have tried running a disk check and memcheck and those didn't find any problems. I just did a fresh install of windows 7 64 bit and have been having the same problems. Any help is much appreciated.View attachment SF_06-11-2012.zip
     
  2. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Please provide these reports: http://windows7forums.com/blue-screen-death-bsod/38837-how-ask-help-bsod-problem.html

    No memory dump files are included in your upload. The minidump.txt file is not useful for us as we have different commands that we run in the debugger.

    Lot's of these errors in the minidump.txt file

    // MessageId: STATUS_INVALID_ADDRESS
    //
    // MessageText:
    //
    // The address handle given to the transport was invalid.
    //
    #define STATUS_INVALID_ADDRESS ((NTSTATUS)0xC0000141L)

    You have a
    BUFFALO WLI-UC-GNM Wireless LAN Adapter
    Win7 doesn't like these devices, here's my rant on them:
    I also recall some issues with support for the Buffalo devices a while back - please be sure to check on updates for this device if you choose to continue using it.

    These devices are not installed, please install them with the latest Win7 compatible driver package:
    SM Bus Controller is most often included in the chipset drivers. If that doesn't fix it, then install all other Intel drivers offered at the PC Manufacturer's website


     
  3. patyvr

    patyvr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your response,

    I think I will ditch the wireless adapter and try a PCI card as you suggest.
     
  4. patyvr

    patyvr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have removed the wireless adapter and am using a wired connection now. I did a clean install of windows and have had another blue screen. Here is the minidump.View attachment 111112-20295-01.dmp
     
  5. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
    Analysis:
    Code:
    Debug session time: Mon Nov 12 14:01:55.817 2012 (UTC + 11:00)
    Built by: 7601.17944.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333
    System Uptime: 0 days 8:27:54.750
    BugCheck 1E, {0, 0, 0, 0}
    Probably caused by : hardware ( NETIO!WfpSysTimerCallback+8 )
    Bugcheck code 0000001E
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1E_0
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_IP_MISALIGNED_NETIO.SYS
    MaxSpeed:     3100
    CurrentSpeed: 3103
    BiosVersion = F8
    BiosReleaseDate = 05/11/2012
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    Code:
    EXCEPTION_RECORD:  fffff80000b9c1b8 -- (.exr 0xfffff80000b9c1b8)ExceptionAddress: [COLOR=#ff0000]fffff880014012b8 [/COLOR](NETIO!WfpSysTimerCallback+0x0000000000000008)
       ExceptionCode: c000001d (Illegal instruction)
      ExceptionFlags: 00000000
    NumberParameters: 0
    
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  fffff80000b9c260 -- (.trap 0xfffff80000b9c260)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=fffffa800761d900 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=fffff8800177b530
    rdx=fffff8800177b4e8 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    [COLOR=#ff0000]rip=fffff880014012b8[/COLOR] rsp=fffff80000b9c3f8 rbp=0000000000000000
     r8=0000000012da0979  r9=0000000001cdc082 r10=0000000000000000
    r11=0000000000000061 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0         nv up ei ng nz na po nc
    (notice how the ExceptionAddress and rip [both highlighted in red] have the same code - that means that whatever it's pointing to is the root of the problem)

    NETIO.sys (and related driver names) are to do with your internet adapters/drivers/cards.

    Looking at previous posts, it appears as though you've removed the wireless adapter and are currently using a wired connection.
    Two questions come into my mind:
    -Did you fully uninstall the wireless adapter (files, drivers, software etc.)
    -Did you properly install the wired connection (modem driver/configuration {if you use one} etc.)

    I must say, good job on keeping most of your drivers up to date, so thats a +1 from me.

    Code:
    **************************Mon Nov 12 14:01:55.817 2012 (UTC + 11:00)**************************intelppm.sys       Tue Jul 14 09:19:25 2009 (4A5BC0FD)
    amdxata.sys        Sat Mar 20 03:18:18 2010 (4BA3A3CA)
    xhcdrv.sys         Fri Jan 20 15:39:02 2012 (4F18EFE6)
    ViaHub3.sys        Fri Jan 20 15:39:13 2012 (4F18EFF1)
    iusb3hub.sys       Tue Mar 27 19:09:29 2012 (4F7175B9)
    iusb3xhc.sys       Tue Mar 27 19:09:32 2012 (4F7175BC)
    iusb3hcs.sys       Tue Mar 27 19:11:21 2012 (4F717629)
    HECIx64.sys        Tue Jul  3 08:14:58 2012 (4FF21D62)
    nvhda64v.sys       Wed Jul  4 01:25:04 2012 (4FF30ED0)
    [COLOR=#ff0000]L1C62x64.sys       Thu Jul 19 12:55:34 2012 (50077726)[/COLOR]
    viahduaa.sys       Fri Aug  3 11:31:13 2012 (501B29E1)
    MpFilter.sys       Fri Aug 24 09:03:14 2012 (5036B6B2)
    nvlddmkm.sys       Wed Oct  3 04:21:13 2012 (506B3099)
    Driver Reference Table - L1C62x64.sys
    that driver (which was also highlighted red in the box above) is the Atheros NIC driver (which is used for WiFi). The analysis that I showed you in the opening sentence, "NETIO.sys (and related drivers)", was an internet driver/software/adapter issue, and so this makes me think that you haven't properly uninstalled your previous wireless adapter.

    What I suggest - FULLY uninstall ALL network drivers and devices (through Control Panel), then retest the issue.
     
  6. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Just my 2¢

    Due to the reinstall of Windows, I'd have to wonder if this is a hardware problem.
    Please run the free diagnostics listed here: Hardware Diagnostics
     
  7. patyvr

    patyvr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help guys. I couldn't find any trace of the old network adpaters and I formatted the disk so that should get rid of them? I did find an update for an SM bus but I got another crash last night.View attachment 111412-22354-01.dmp

    I am in the process of trying out the diagnostic tools.
     
  8. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
    It looks like a system driver... perhaps try reinstalling Windows if the Diagnostic Tools don't work?
     
    #8 GeneralHiningII, Nov 16, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  9. patyvr

    patyvr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just ran the memtest86+ and it found some errors. I have attached a picture of it because I don't know if it is possible to record it. Does this mean that the RAM is toast? 20121116_170015.
     
  10. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
    Looks like it.
    Try running Memtest on each RAM stick (leave one in, test it, if it's good, keep it, if it's bad, chuck it, repeat) and see which one's are wrong (by the looks of the pic, you probably have to replace them all).
     
  11. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    It's also possible that there is a problem with the slots in the motherboard.
    So, if all of the sticks test bad in one slot, try them individually in the other slots.

    Don't forget to use anti-static precautions when messing around inside the case (remove all power and ground yourself)

    Good luck!
     
  12. GeneralHiningII

    GeneralHiningII Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    7
    Or, when opening your case, use an anti-static wristband.
     

Share This Page

Loading...