BSOD Before Installation

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by psychx, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 Professional (MSDN)

    Windows 7 is currently installed on the PC in question. It is running and working. But, I am trying to format and reinstall via the Windows 7 disk. I put the Windows 7 disk in the CD-ROM tray, close it, and restart the computer. I enter the boot selection screen, and select CD-ROM. Windows 7 setup starts, but as soon as it starts I get a BSOD. This did not happen when I previously installed Windows 7 on the computer.

    This is the error code I received when first getting this BSOD:
    Code:
    IRQL_NOT_LESS OR EQUAL
    ----
    STOP: 0x0000000A (0x803FFFEC, 0x00000002, 0x00000001, 0x8BAA1168)
    
    Then the second time I tried, I actually got a very similar code.
    Code:
    IRQL_NOT_LESS OR EQUAL
    ----
    STOP: 0x0000000A (0x8C03A718, 0x00000002, 0x00000001, 0x8BAA1168)
    
    Can someone please help me with this? In the meantime I will be searching around, and will post if I find a resolution. Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 psychx, Sep 6, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2010
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Could you attach your crash dumps found in C:\Windows\Minidump ?
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    A couple of things to try: Remove any adapters and disconnect any hardware devices not needed.

    Check system RAM or try installing on just one stick and see how you go..

    Lastly, could you post your system spec... Ta. :)
     
  4. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I just uploaded the 2 most recent crash dump files to the original post. I am actually sending these from the PC that is having the problem. Like I said, it is running good currently - for things like this that I need to do - but am trying to format and reinstall. It is a Dell Dimension E310, but did not come from the factory like this.
     
  5. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    1. Check your hdd for errors.
    chkdsk /r


    (2. Make sure that the iso and the disk are not corrupted.)



    Dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\
    This was likely caused by the following module: ntkrnlpa.exe
    Bugcheck code: 0x19 (0x3, 0xAD74EEE8, 0xAD74ECE8, 0xAD74EEE8)
    Error: BAD_POOL_HEADER
    Bug Check 0x19: BAD_POOL_HEADER



    7870d1283786191-bsod-before-installation-090610-24117-01.dmp
    This was likely caused by the following module: ntkrnlpa.exe
    process: fltmgr.sys
    Bugcheck code: 0xC2 (0x7, 0x1097, 0x4D005F, 0x8961D800)
    Bug Check 0xC2: BAD_POOL_CALLER


    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Your current installation has a few outdated drivers. When you have reinstalled windows, visit your manufacturer's support for newer versions.


    igxpmp32.sys 07.10.2006
    Intel Graphics Accelerator

    RT2500.sys 20.10.2005
    Linksys WMP54G wireless network adapter

    VSTCNXT3.SYS 16.10.2008
    VSTDPV3.SYS 16.10.2008
    VSTBS23.SYS 16.10.2008
    Conexant Systems, Inc. belonging to product SoftK56 Modem Driver

    e100b325.sys 16.11.2007
    Intel(R) PRO Adapter
     
    #5 cybercore, Sep 6, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2010
  6. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I have ran chkdsk and there doesn't appear to be any errors. Also, I have just used this disk to install Windows 7 on another PC and the installation was flawless. Any other ides? Thank you.
     
  7. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Good posts guys.

    Psychx, please follow Cybercore's post about updating the above drivers. Please post a new crash dump after, in necessary.

    Those old drivers he mentioned absolutely have to be updated. Some are ancient from 2006 like the Intel graphics adapter and the 2005 wireless. Those will definitely crash Windows. If you need more help. we're here.
     
  8. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the input! I am about to update the drivers, but am wondering - will these also be affecting the installation of Windows on the same machine? For example, the fact that it has Windows 7 already installed but I am formatting and reinstalling? Just wondering. Thanks!
     
  9. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    No need to format and reinstall. Simply update those drivers as shown and you'll be set.
     
  10. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a few quick questions..

    I have been looking for drivers and am unable to find any current drivers for Windows 7.. I was wondering if anyone can help me?

    The graphics adapter is: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family
    The network adapter is: Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection

    Also, can I just disable the Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter and the (SoftK56) Conexant D850 56K V.90 DFVc Modem? This PC doesn't use dial-up or wireless.

    Another thing is, that I found a solution somewhere along the road for the graphics adapter. It is a modded 915 driver. I unpacked the archive and ran setup.exe, which then told me that my installed version is actually newer than this one. But I'm wondering if maybe it just thinks it's newer when it's really not? Thanks for all the help!

    Also, I can upload the modded driver if anyone wanted to see it..
     
  11. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321

    You can disable the Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter and the (SoftK56) Conexant D850 56K V.90 DFVc Modem if you never use them. Device Manager>Disable those devices.

    As for the modded 915 driver, feel free to post a link to it, or attach it here, will be uaeful for other people with this problem.

    IF ANY MORE BSOD's, do not hesitate to attach them.
     
  12. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, here is the modified 915 driver. I haven't installed it yet, because like I said - It told me it was older than the current driver... but I'm not sure if I actually believe that. Maybe you can help?

    Thank you for helping me out.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I didn't notice a BSOD but decided to check the minidump folder again. There is a file from today in there. I have uploaded it here.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    It's an old crash, right? If you get new crashes, attach them here. So, 090810-15787-01.dmp


    090810-15787-01.dmp
    Bug Check 0x9F: DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE
    DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE (9f)
    IMAGE_NAME: tunnel.sys
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x9F_IMAGE_tunnel.sys
    Microsoft Windows tunnel interface driver



    Old drivers:

    igxpmp32.sys Sat Oct 07 00:23:59 2006
    Intel Graphics Accelerator Drivers for Windows NT(R) by Intel Corporation intel.com


    RT2500.sys Thu Oct 20 10:00:03 2005
    Linksys WMP54G wireless network adapter


    VSTBS23.SYS Thu Oct 16 03:30:15 2008
    SoftK56 Modem Driver - Conexant Systems, Inc.


    e100b325.sys Fri Nov 16 20:53:32 2007
    Intel(R) PRO Adapter
     
  15. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey cybercore,

    Yes, that report was from before I disabled the wireless and 56k modem drivers. I still am not sure what to do with the other 2 drivers, as I cannot seem to find an updated driver for the Intel PRO adapter, and the Intel graphics adapter. I posted that graphics adapter that I found - but it is telling me that it is actually older than the one installed, so I did not proceed with install. Also, I am wondering if XP drivers work with Windows 7 at all? Thank you for your patience!
     
  16. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    The other two being intel graphics and intel network. No problem, You are welcome. Try IntelForums, they may give you a better clue as to Intel devices and drivers.
     
  17. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Also, you may wanna disable any 3rd party firewalls.
     
  18. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
  19. psychx

    psychx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good idea, cybercore. I haven't done that yet. I typically use Linux distributions, so sometimes I forget about some of these things. Thanks!

    I will definitely try that, TorrentG.

    I really appreciate all the help with this. I will definitely be frequenting these forums much more. As soon as I fix everything, I will be sure to update this thread as well. That way if someone else has a similar problem, they can see what we did to fix it.


    **Edit: I have a question that is a bit off-topic. But when trying to login to that IntelForums website. Everytime I log in, either in Google Chrome (Chromium Browser) or in Internet Explorer, I get back to the main area and I am not logged in. I have tried about 5 times, and I have verified the login as well. Got any ideas? Maybe it's just me, I'll try restarting. I know I have cookies enabled.
     
    #19 psychx, Sep 8, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2010

Share This Page

Loading...