BSOD caused by driver: ntoskrnl.exe

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by louis0nfire, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. louis0nfire

    louis0nfire New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I've gotten a BSOD twice and decided to use a diagnosing program to see why it was happening. It picked up that ntoskrnl.exe is causing the BSOD. Why is it happening? What do I do from here?

    I attached the .dmp file.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Tough one! Hardware.
    DUMP:
    Code:
    .....
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    BugCheck 124, {0, fffffa8004bb9028, b2000040, 800}
    Probably caused by : hardware
    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    2: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
    A fatal hardware error has occurred. Parameter 1 identifies the type of error
    source that reported the error. Parameter 2 holds the address of the
    WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure that describes the error conditon.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 0000000000000000, Machine Check Exception
    Arg2: fffffa8004bb9028, Address of the WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure.
    Arg3: 00000000b2000040, High order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.
    Arg4: 0000000000000800, Low order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x124_GenuineIntel
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    PROCESS_NAME:  swtor.exe
    CURRENT_IRQL:  f
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`02f6ba58 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    MODULE_NAME: hardware
    IMAGE_NAME:  hardware
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  0
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_BUS
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_BUS
    Followup: MachineOwner
    Start by updating this driver
    UsbFltr.sys 4/9/2007 from here Razer Support
    If you no longer have or use the Razer device then uninstall the associated software or consider renaming the file to UsbFltr.OLD
    and while you're at it update your Realtek High Definition Audio Device
    RTKVHD64.sys 10/5/2010 from here Realtek
    And in the mean time Please read the first post in this sticky thread here How to ask for help with a BSOD problem
    Do your best to accumulate the data required.
    Run the SF Diagnostic tool (download and right click the executable and choose run as administrator)
    Download and run CPUz. Use the Windows snipping tool to gather images from all tabs including all slots populated with memory under the SPD tab.
    Likewise RAMMon. Export the html report, put everything into a desktop folder that you've created for this purpose, zip it up and attach it to your next post (right click it and choose send to, compressed (zipped) folder.
    Good luck
    Randy
     
  3. Eiler

    Eiler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    louis0nfire - I am seeing BSODs in SWTOR also as are a lot of other people. It appears to be a problem with the game and hopefully a fix will be out soon. The issue happens on nvidia and ATI cards at the very least.
     

Share This Page

Loading...