BSOD caused by ntosknl

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by vvn13, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. vvn13

    vvn13 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Ok, I will attempt...

    This is what shows up in the dump file. It seems to have caught QQ.exe which might be some type of software from Tencent. If you know what this is, you might check for an update, if not, can you remove it. It might be something like Symantec catching or interrupting something, but updates would not hurt.

    Edit: Your first dump file caught ccsvchst.exe which seems to be part of Norton. Perhaps this link to Norton will help.
     
    #2 Saltgrass, Sep 16, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011
  3. vvn13

    vvn13 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for replying!
    So if i use norton removal tool to remove norton will it help?
    And is this a hardware issue?
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It does not appear to be hardware...but the dump files do not point to anything specifically (except the delayed clock), so hard to tell for sure.
     
  5. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    It could possibly be.

    Usual causes are: Device driver, BIOS bug, hardware defect.

    Seeing as device drivers are the easiest, and cheapest (free), best to go for that option first. But Saltgrass is right, Norton does not have a very good reputation. Even with Seven. Replace Norton with BSOD friendly Microsoft Security Essentials as its replacement. Make sure Windows firewall is enabled!
     
  6. vvn13

    vvn13 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the replies guys,

    I used Norton removal tool to remove it and my friend is helping me to format my computer later the day, do you guys think it will help?
     
  7. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    115

    Just a note in passing. Norton often causes these kinds of problems. I would remove it and replace with Microsoft Security essentials at least to test.

    http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN

    Virus, Spyware & Malware Protection | Microsoft Security Essentials
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. vvn13

    vvn13 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your advise
    My friend had already formatted my computer but instead of using Norton, I am using MSE. Hope everything will be fine from now on...
     

Share This Page

Loading...