BSOD - please help!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by cuddlecud, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. cuddlecud

    cuddlecud New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep getting a BSOD error at least once a day on an ad hoc basis. I recently purchased a Dell Studio XPS, i7-920 processor, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD. It came with Windows Vista but Dell sent me an upgrade to 7 after a few days. After upgrading to 7 the BSOD problem started. Each time the error is identical and it happens without any noticeable pattern I could be on a word processor or surfing the net for example.

    I have only installed two pieces of hardware - a Logitech STX Communicate webcam and an HP photosmart 2610 printer. 7 reckons both are compatible. i have also installed a computer game, Football Manager 2009, again 7 says no problem with compatibility.

    I ran a scannow test at the command prompt but that picked up no violations.

    The BSOD error relates to a secondary processor timing out in communication with a primary processor. However, i can't tell from the code below where or what is causing this problem. Does anyone have any tips?

    Nick


    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 3081
    Extra information about the problem
    BCCode: 101
    BCP1: 0000000000000019
    BCP2: 0000000000000000
    BCP3: FFFFF88002D64180
    BCP4: 0000000000000002
    OS Version: 6_1_7600
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1
    Bucket ID: X64_CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT_8_PROC
    Server information: 24f0d864-cd59-44ea-8b9f-50b36e5e34d1
     
  2. cuddlecud

    cuddlecud New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody got any ideas on this? Do I need to provide a bit more information?
     
  3. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    One piece of information you will be asked for immediately. When you say you upgraded, was this over a Vista installation, or a clean install. The former would possibly be the reason for your problem
     
  4. cuddlecud

    cuddlecud New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks - it was over a vista operating system. The upgrade offered wasn't a full windows 7 package, it was a vista to 7 upgrade.
     
  5. fratleyslaye

    fratleyslaye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    cuddlecud, read the sticky at the top of the page and follow those few very simple rules to give more information. like another said though, there seems to be a lot of problems with vista to 7 upgrades. My mothers laptop had to be reverted twice to vista to alter settings before i got fed up and clean installed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...