BSOD, With 16Gb of RAM Installed

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by megaman821, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. megaman821

    megaman821 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a new Lenovo T530 and installed a pair of Corsair Vengeance 8GB PC3 12800 modules.

    After logging on to Windows I get and immediate BSOD, 100% of the time.

    Things that work:
    • Several runs of Memorytest86+
    • Using only a single stick of RAM
    • Using Safe Mode

    Here is the dump file:View attachment 071212-4695-01.dmp
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
  3. megaman821

    megaman821 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the latest bios, but I did find out something interesting last night. If I uninstall the Intel HD 4000 graphics driver no more blue screens, but the downside is I only can use the generic VGA graphics driver.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Really? Hmm ok well if that works too.. :) If you have any further dmp files please post as one doesn't always show the full picture.
     
  5. megaman821

    megaman821 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Attached Files:

  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hmm.. I'm still seeing this 7F kernel trap. As this happened when you fitted the new memory you pretty much got your culprit right there. Stop 0x7F usually occurs after the installation of faulty or mismatched hardware (especially memory). Try running memtest again but on each individual stick. I'd also check that you have the correct settings enabled in the bios for your RAM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...