1. cookie3

    cookie3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    EVGA 790 ultra sli
    q6600 Quad core
    OZC DDR3 PC6400 x 2 4gb
    windows 7 64bit

    BSOD before complete install, error "memory management", could not copy the rest. Tried to install twice same error message. Help please?
     
  2. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Hi Cookie3 and Welcome to The Forum.

    A BSOD which blames Memory_Management usually means your RAM/RAM settings are mismatched or incorrect.

    Can you get into your BIOS and make note off, then post the RAM timings / settings here. If possible the Model numbers of your RAM and Motherboard would also be a help.
     
  3. cookie3

    cookie3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    timing is as follows: tCL 6, tRCD 6, tRP 6, tRAS 18, CMD 1T, tRRD 3, tRC 20, tWR 7, tWTR 13, tFAW 13, tREF 7.6uS, tRFC 44, The motherboard is EVGA nForce 790 ultra SLI, with 2 x 2048 DDR3 pc3 6400 Ram from OCZ Gold edition. Let me know if that helps. Thanks ahead of time.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,704
    Likes Received:
    195
    Hi

    Is there any chance you know he make and model of your ram? If not if you go into the bios can you find command rate and change it to 2T for the time being to see if you can get into windows long enough to get screen grabs of cpu-z each tab and each slot for the memory.

    Could you also if you get into windows get RAMMon and save off it's log so I can have a detailed overview of the memory and it's settings.

    NmsUK
     
  5. cookie3

    cookie3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best I can do is just give you the above info. Win 7 does not even get a chance to finish loading with the install. I am concerned that the ram I bought may be incompatable.
     
  6. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    115

    If you can try pulling all but one stick of it, or run memtest to test.


    Download a copy of Memtest86 and burn the ISO to a CD using Iso Recorder or another ISO burning program.

    Boot from the CD, and leave it running for at least 5 or 6 passes.

    Just remember, any time Memtest reports errors, it can be either bad RAM or a bad motherboard slot.

    Test the sticks individually, and if you find a good one, test it in all slots.
     

Share This Page

Loading...