Windows 7 Can I install WoW on Windows 7 64-bit?

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by fatalphenom, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. fatalphenom

    fatalphenom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive been searching the topic for a week now and can only find information that is 2 years old.

    Can anyone help me out on this?
     
  2. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    115
    I think we need more information because WoW is instlaled in win 7 64bit. Thats why you have two program files directories (X86, and 64 bit)

    What are you trying to do?


    Ken J

    Can anyone tell im not a gamer {grin}
     
    #2 zigzag3143, Oct 12, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2010
  3. fatalphenom

    fatalphenom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, World of Warcraft.

    So when the dialogue box opens up that shows where to install it do I install it to the "Program Files" folder and not the x86?
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Does it give a default location? If so just leave it at that..
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  6. fatalphenom

    fatalphenom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've checked out the links and have done everything I can find to try and fix my problem. The folder it defaults to when it lets you choose is C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft
    here is the error message i am getting:

     The file "C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft.temp\Data.temp\enUS.temp\Interface.temp\Cinematics.temp" could not be renamed to "C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft.temp\Data.temp\enUS.temp\Interface.temp\Cinematics". (ConflictManager::ResolveConflicts/1)
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,849
    Likes Received:
    1,569
  8. fatalphenom

    fatalphenom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you guys for the links and the information. I have read through those pages and also tried some of the solutions, but to no avail.

    I am going to give up on installing World of Warcraft since I have purchased Guild Wars and after a few hours of playing the game, I like it much more than WoW. Another reason I will not install WoW is because Guild Wars if free to play every month.

    But if anyone has anymore information please let me know!

    Windows 7 64-bit
     
  9. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,055
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    It doesn't matter where you install it, my friend is running it from his external hard drive.
    I have it installed in D:\Wow.

    The truth is that it doesn't even need to be installed.
    You can take an existing installation and copy it to a new computer and it will run fine.
    I'm running the same installation that was on my XP 32 bit computer on my new Windows 7 64 bit one and it doesn't know the difference.
    I just copied the Wow folder from one to the other.

    So if you know anyone with an installation you can just copy it to your computer.

    Mike
     
    #10 MikeHawthorne, Oct 17, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2010

Share This Page

Loading...