Can no longer connect to the internet.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by darkedone02, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. darkedone02

    darkedone02 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    My father is having problems connecting to the internet after we did a complete restart, we don't know what is causing the problem but every time we try to connect to the internet, we got this "connect to broadband connection (PPPOEE)". Which ain't suppose to pop up, we got insightbb as our internet provider and when go online, it does not require us to sign in.

    It does this when we try to play online games or connect to the internet... Device Manager has detected 3 network drivers: Hamachi network adapter, Realtec PCIe GBE Family Controller, and Realtec PCIe GBE Family Controller #2. This seem to happen after we restart the computer after installing the 9.10 Windows 7 64-bit ATI Radeon HD4890 series video driver, the suite package.
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Try rebooting your modem and your router if you have one.
     
  3. darkedone02

    darkedone02 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    We tried rebooting our netgear router and our internet connection but it still will not detect it... It still pops up that "connect to broadband connecton (PPPOE)", when we try to find our router, or set one up, we got two options, "connect to broadband (PPPOE)" and "Connect to Dail-up"... there is no option for "Connect to Wireless router or access point" and "connect to workplace"
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Have you tied directly connecting the modem and bypassing the router?

    Did you upgrade or do a clean install? There are options in the network settings that can turn off the internet connection... maybe they worked under vista but turn off Win 7. I have seen posts that explained the steps but I didn't take notes.
     
  5. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Click Start and type Lan and try Identify and repair problems
    Also compare the network settings with the system that is working.. I see I have DHCP enabled... whatever that is... maybe something like that is turned off on the computer that's not connecting
     
  6. darkedone02

    darkedone02 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    He did a upgrade, he got a free upgrade from Ibuypower.com after he has purchased his brand new computer from there, so he got a free coupon for Windows 7.

    He try to do anything just to get his internet to work. He said that after we installed the video driver and one of the next series of updates from microsoft, his internet won't come on after that. His ethernet card is attached to his motherboard and he is just tried everything trying to get it work... He called our Insight Provider, called Microsoft, and now has to call Ibuypower.com and hopefully they will solve his internet problem.
     
  7. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    You will probably eventually have to backup and do a clean install. I did a test upgrade from Vista and I ended up with 32 drivers out of date and over 1,000 duplicate files.. many people have reported here that they had to do a clean install to resolve problems.
     
  8. darkedone02

    darkedone02 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That might be a problem because I don't remember if my father got the disk for Windows Vista 64 bit home premium or not... I don't know if he got the disk for it when they shipped his computer from here...
     
  9. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I read that Microsoft has links to download Window 7 now.. I should have took notes.

    Even if you find it at Microsoft or on torrents you'll need a valid keycode to make it run past 4 months.
     
  10. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    Ok... I found the links and will put them in my blog.
     

Share This Page

Loading...