Can not activate IPv6

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by wanthai, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. wanthai

    wanthai Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have a Dell Optiplex 745 wit Win 7Proff. 64 bit.

    I can not make my network adapter s IPv6 active, even that I mark it in LAN Properties.

    Here is my ipconfig:


    C:\>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP-konfiguration
    Værtsnavn. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Tage-Pc
    Primært DNS-suffiks. . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .:
    Nodetype . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP-routing aktiveret . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . : no
    WINS-proxy aktiveret . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . : no
    Ethernet-netværkskort LAN-forbindelse:
    Forbindelsesspecifikt DNS-suffiks. . . . . . :
    Beskrivelse. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Fysisk adresse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . : 00-19-B9-2E-CC-19
    DHCP aktiveret . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . : yes
    Automatisk konfiguration aktiveret . . . . .. . . : yes
    IPv4-adresse . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. : 10.0.0.2(Foretrukken)
    Undernetmaske. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . .: 255.255.255.0
    Rettigheden opnået . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .: 18. januar 2012 12:50:22
    Rettigheden udløber. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 21. januar 2012 12:50:21
    Standardgateway. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP-server. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..: 10.0.0.1
    DNS-servere. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . .. . . : 212.242.40.3
    212.242.40.51
    212.242.40.3
    NetBIOS over Tcpip . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . .. . . : Activatet
    C:\>

    Do anybody have an idea off what the problem is
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  3. wanthai

    wanthai Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Randy
    >It is likely a problem with the registry value that governs IPv6. Please take a moment to read this article How to disable IP version 6 >(IPv6) or its specific components in Windows 7, in Windows Vista, in Windows Server 2008 R2, and in Windows Server 2008 >(http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929852) and perhaps give the "Enable IPv6" FixIt a try. Regards Randy"

    I have read that article, and I have run the FixIt from Microsoft. It do not help.
    The problem occure wen I try to start a Home Group, Then I get that pop-up message that the IPv6 are not enabled.

    so I never get my Homegroup up and runing.:cry_smile:
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Did you try checking the registry for the "DisabledComponents" value (DWORD 32bit) should be set to zero "0" (no actual quotes nowhere)
    Should be located here HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip6\Parameters\
     
  5. wanthai

    wanthai Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    :flower::flower::flower:

    Yes, thank you that was exactly wath was needed to solve the problem.

    There were in the Dword ff and when changeing that to 0, and restart the mashine it all worked.


    So put this to the Solved

    :flower::flower::flower::flower::flower:
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Glad to hear you were able to resolve you problem. Thanks for posting back and updating your thread with the solution that worked for you.
    Hope to continue to see you around the forum.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  7. Bradford

    Bradford New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the EXACT same problem with my two w7 64 bit CPUs. Wish me luck.
     
  8. Bradford

    Bradford New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I backed up the whole HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSYEM and opened the Tcpip6 and the

    DisabledComponents REG_WORD 0x000000ff (255)

    EnableICSipv6 REG_WORD 0x00000001 (1)

    What should I do or is my problem different. Trying to start Home group says IP6 not enabled, but the boxes are all checked in properties?
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  10. Bradford

    Bradford New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. I will do so directly and get back with results.
     

Share This Page

Loading...