Cannot open Programs and Features and Pc Hanging....

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by bangbang, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    The PC on occasions hang
    &
    When i open in Programs and Features the explorer.exe application crashes.........

    Any idea guys what's going on..........

     
  2. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
  3. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey man....

    I tried checking my pc for such errors... no errors.... i even formatted my pc 2 times.......


    there is usually a lag for 1-2 min this usually happens when i`m playing a movie.....
     
  4. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Selective Start-Up

    Try running sfc/scannow and see if that turns up anything.

    You could do a selective start-up without loading start-up items and disabling anti virus and other security programs. This would tell us if you have a software conflict. .


    You might try Internet Explorer stops responding, stops working, or restarts This was originally for IE 7, but I noticed they handle IE 8 as well. (I use IE 8 and they didn't turn me down)

    This also may help: http://www.brighthub.com/computing/windows-platform/articles/44681.aspx (What to do when Windows Explorer 8 hangs)
     
    #4 Celestra, Sep 21, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
    bangbang and (deleted member) like this.
  5. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm uploading the log file it created... cldn't make head or tails out of it... maybe u can :D
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Hi Bang,bang.

    What type of system do you have? Also are the drivers up to date?
     
  7. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is an x64 system....

    2gb ram, dual core, and drivers are upto date as per the windows updation system.......... i never used the motherboard DvD to update ..... it updates on it`s own....
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    That could be where the problem lies... WU isn't infallible and if you could give me your system run down I could point you in the direction of the drivers..

    Also, did you 'upgrade' or do a fresh install?
     
  9. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    it was a fresh install.....

    how to get a run down ???
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
  11. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    okie....
    will do that right away in a min............. :D
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Great! I'll be around a little later too so I'll have a look..:D
     
  13. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
  15. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    different parts updated on different dates.... so no idea....

    but the Processor and the mobo is 1-2 years old
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Ok..no problem, your graphics is a little old thats all but the above driver should be fine..

    Remember to un-install the original ones first..
     
  17. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aah.... my new Graphicx card got 0wned..... So i took out my old G.C. to work till my this card gets replaced.....

    My Graphicx Card : Radeon 4850
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    LOl.....now thats different! :D Also Bang,bang do you know if your present bios is up to date? If you've had the board for two years and never flashed it yourself I'm guessing that it could be old...

    In fact looking at that report it says it's 2007 vintage.. The latest updates are here: Universal abit > Motherboard, Digital Speakers, iDome, AirPace, Multimedia

    Please read the instructions before attempting this procedure..

    Oh and the latest graphic drivers can be found through here: http://windows7forums.com/windows-vista-multimedia/11365-graphic-drivers-10.html
     
    #18 kemical, Sep 22, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  19. bangbang

    bangbang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a system format and now Same problem and arisen again..... Did all what I did last time but no go....

    Kindly help....

    Uploading the Sfc/Scannow file log......
    CBS.log

    And yes just FYI I never upgraded the motherboard drivers .... I'm not comfortable doing those.... IS there any medium taht i start the process in the Windows 7 OS and then it may restart and do everything by itself.... ?
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566

Share This Page

Loading...