Cannot use, delete or move files after move from x86 to x64

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by cokesmoke, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. cokesmoke

    cokesmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I just upgraded from x86 to x64 and all went rather well, but the files that were backuped from my desktop ended up unusable... I get a no permissions message everytime I try to use any files...

    I've tried to take ownership of the file, but to no avail... please help
     
  2. cokesmoke

    cokesmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    EDIT:
    done some searching, seems that it's encrypted, is there any way to reverse this without the key? brute force or something like that?

    EDIT2:
    I backuped the AppData folder before the reinstall... I think windows stores the encryption-key in the %appdata%\Microsoft\SystemCertificates... is there any way to get that into the current installation?
     
  3. cokesmoke

    cokesmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I kinda know that I can't "upgrade" it >_<
    I installed a news instance of windows, and only kept the Appdata from the x86-version
     
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  5. cokesmoke

    cokesmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried taking ownership by properties, adding "Take ownership" to right-click menu and applied cacls to some files to test... no go :(
     
  6. cokesmoke

    cokesmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried setting all the options to allow on my username in the security-tab, if that's what you were asking?
     
  7. cokesmoke

    cokesmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried it, but it give me a "You don't have permission" message when adding any of the files
     
  8. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Have you tried through Backup and Restore?

    CP > Backup and Restore > Manage Space > Delete
     
  9. cokesmoke

    cokesmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    would that delete the data? preferably I'd like if I could use those files again...
     

Share This Page

Loading...