Cannot use System Restore

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by arkazain, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. arkazain

    arkazain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    This morning I decided to use the System Restore to revert back to a previous state, but after the computer rebooted and everything, I get an error message saying that it couldn't revert because there was a file that could not be accessed(doesn't say which file it is) and I got the error message (0x80070005)
    It said that the cause could be because I have an anti-virus active, so I disabled it, but still no luck.
     
  2. arkazain

    arkazain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried 'chkdsk /X' but it said it was used by something else, so I made it so it would check next time I boot the computer(or was it turn off?).
    Then I tried without the ' /X' and it said that I should try 'chkdsk /F' but it was used too, so I guess I'll find out next time I boot/turn off.

    Regardless of the result, thanks for the help :)
     
  3. arkazain

    arkazain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, unfortunately it doesn't work. Actually it doesn't seem like Windows did the chkdsk when I rebooted at all.

    Well thanks anyway :)
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    The easiest way to run check disk is click computer, right click on drive, tools and check the boxes and reboot.
    Joe
     
  5. arkazain

    arkazain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hm, it seems that I don't have that folder, I checked to see if it was hidden, but it wasn't there.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,841
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Have you tried pressing F8 whilst booting and then choosing 'Last good known configuration'?
     

Share This Page

Loading...