Can't change network name

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by maddjaxx, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. maddjaxx

    maddjaxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I setup my win 7 machine and during the network setup I accidently added a character on the end of the name of my network. It now will only show the network by this name so I am unable to see or access my home server or the other 4 Vista machines. I can access the internet but not the other resources on the network. I have went into properties and changed workgroup name, deleted connections and the wireless connection is called the same as my network name but it still shows the network as the wrong name. In vista you could merge networks to get rid of this problem but not here that I can find. Help please.........
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. SKJoy2001

    SKJoy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    How do I change the network connections names? Not only the WiFi, but also the wored networks. Attaching a shot here to show you exactly what I want to change.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  3. jataja

    jataja New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,
    i have similar problem with wired network
    i have 2 pcs with win xp and i don't know how to enter the home network.
     
  4. SKJoy2001

    SKJoy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, forgive for my ignorance, but I didn't know WinXP has this NETWORK LOCATION TYPE thing and personally I believe managing networks with WinXP is seriously more comfortable than of this Win7 :(
     
  5. Davet50

    Davet50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a win 7 machine and an XP laptop and they network just fine. They did not in 7058 but in 7077 this is fixed.
    You cannot use the home group for a network unless all machines are on win 7. I am not sure about the name as I never had to enter a network name on my machine. But that is Ethernet and not wireless..
     
  6. SKJoy2001

    SKJoy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear, lets just say I have no other network, just one WiFi card connected to a simple NetGear access point I set up at my home. I want to use a static IP for the WiFi connection. The interface connects fine to the access point and networking is working just fine. The trouble is that the Win7 system can't recognize the network and names it UNDEFINED NETWORK and makes the location type to PUBLIC which I can't change from the Network and Sharing Center, the work PUBLIC is not clickable there!
     
  7. rickwookie

    rickwookie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there.

    I don't know if this is only fixed for some build newer than 7000 (I only found this by accident after installing 7100 today) but I had another go to see if I could change the network name since I didn't manage before (with 7000) and I found that clicking on the network icon in 'Network and Sharing Center', NOT the name of the network or the link to the type of network, e.g. 'Home Network', but the actual image (in my case a picture of a house) brings up the hidden 'Set Network Properties'!

    Here you can change the 'Network name', 'Network Icon' and also 'Merge or delete network locations'.

    How hidden is that!

    You may worship me, unless of course this is now common knowledge, but I cetainly couldn't find out how to do this when I looked using Google when I first tried the beta (build 7000).
     
  8. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45
    We salute you regardless:) but you may also read carefully (not just a quick scan as you can miss it)the entire "companian post" to this thread in this Forum http://windows7forums.com/windows-7-networking/4416-how-change-network-type.html

    But your posting this way highlights that option for all to see a lot more clearly .:)
     
  9. rickwookie

    rickwookie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to change network type. Is that what the OP was asking then? I suppose re-reading it, that probably was the case. I just found this thread because I googled for '"windows 7" change network name' (since that was my original problem) and this thread was the first hit.

    I thought I'd found just another user with the same problem, so once I figured it out for myself, I thought it only polite to post back to this same thread. At least now anyone else doing a similar search hopefully will find a useful solution and not just another problem that sounds similar to theirs (from the title) but is actually different. ;-)
     
  10. ww7898

    ww7898 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had same problem, and it turned out you can click on those network connection icons, and then a window will pop up to allow name changes. :razz:

     
  11. SKJoy2001

    SKJoy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, that was not the case here.
     
  12. durix

    durix New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, changing network name is easy:
    in Network and Sharing Center there is a link 'Change adapter settings'
    it is located[​IMG] at left upper side of window.
    From there its possible to change network name
     
  13. rickwookie

    rickwookie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can change the adapter name there (or connection name as it seems to be also called) but not the network name. Unless I'm mistaken, in which case could you provide step by step instructions?
     
  14. SKJoy2001

    SKJoy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    WRONG

    Windows 7 will NEVER let you change the network name for the network that it can't detect the network type which it labels by UNDEFINED NETWORK.
     
  15. Roomraider

    Roomraider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    See post #7 to answer your question. The Icon that he mentions is under "View your active networks" in the Network & Sharing Center.
     
  16. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I think I am misunderstanding this thread? Isn't this the same as changing the domain or workgroup?

    If it is, (forgive me and ignore if on the wrong thread) then this is , of course done through the Control Panel - System - Advanced System settings - Computer name tab. The network name is then changed with the bottom item.
     
  17. SKJoy2001

    SKJoy2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has nothing to do with WORKGROUP or DOMAIN NAME.
     
  18. Roomraider

    Roomraider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wrong Thread, Changing the "Network" name is totaly different than the Workgroup/Domain/Computer name. Network name is the device that connects all your computers together.
     
  19. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    OK. Understood. I think I was mainly referring to the OP. I did not notice the thread had been hijacked by another poster. The OP vanished a long time ago so apparently solved his problem.
     
  20. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    I've had a home network going for years. I've used XP Home, XP Pro x64 Edition, Vista, Ubuntu Linux and now Windows 7. There was a lot to learn and a lot of different things to deal with. But I've never had to deal with "Network Name". The only names I ever had to deal with was the "Computer Name" and the "Workgroup name". I think you're messing with something you need to leave alone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...