Windows 7 can't play video without always reinstalling windows media player

patagone

Hi,
Sorry if this is a really stupid question, I am new to windows 7, and was trying to run the tutorials supplied my microsoft, but every time I try, I get a message saying that I need to download windows media player.

This takes way too long to do for every tutorial, & yes, I have to do this for each one!
I will never learn anything at this rate.
I cant see why the windows 7 creators would insist I use a player with the windows
name, windows media player, if it does not even work. How limited and it should be embarassing.

How do I fix this? What am I missing?
:confused:
Thanks in advance,
patagone

Hey there.

Not too sure which tutorials you mean, but if they are made by Microsoft as you're saying, it would work by using Silverlight.

Install this and see if things go better for you:

Link Removed - Invalid URL

Do a Windows Update after installing too.

Why are you using windows media player anyway?
its maybe the most heaviest video software.

much more better choice would be BS player or free VLC player
and if you wanna listen music use foobar2000.
both of those programs are very light and don't use so much memory or strain computer so much like WM player.

Using Windows Media Player for Videos
Fallen is on the right path, as there are a lot of better players, especially for video. But if you must have Windows Media Player working, it is built into Windows 7. I have a large music library and manage it with Windows Media Player, as I like how it automatically picks up on Music in folders and libraries. However, I would be less inclined to use it for video or movies.

Finding Windows Media Player in Windows 7