can't read memory sector now

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by leifendower, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. leifendower

    leifendower New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all
    :(ok so i did the upgrade to windows 7 from vista on my compaq. During the process it said i had to flash my bios this freaked me out as i've heard horror stories but it also said it was backing up the old bios so i did it.

    now when i try to run everquest in compatability mode to xp and admin rights it comes up with this message.

    " The instruction at 0x0324d306 referenced memory at 0x00000044 The memory could not be read. click ok to terminate program. "

    So i looked this up and what it seems like is i have a problem now with my memory or Bios :(

    This laptop is 4 months old and My wife's to boot.
    HELP !!!!!!!!
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Well for some peace of mind you might try going here and download and try running the Microsoft Memory Test Microsoft Online Crash Analysis
    Is it just the everquest application or does the computer exhibit other problems. As many people here and elsewhere will tell you....an upgrade type install is not always going to perform well and a clean install is usually better. Just wondering, does your wife play everquest alot?
     
  3. leifendower

    leifendower New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hm
    So are you suggesting a clean install of windows 7 or everquest? hehe eq is a fresh install. As far as i can tell it's only problem is with eq. that is why I changed to compatability and gave it administrative rights.
    Is that the same memory test you can actually access thru windows 7 ? think it's a search for mschk or something close to it. I ran this and it said there is no problems found. It is actually me that plays eq on the laptop when I cant use the tower due to the kids. I play quite a bit.

    Oh is it possible to do a complete install with the upgrade disc they send out?
     
    #3 leifendower, Dec 30, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2009
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Windows 7.....I'm actually not suggesting anything, what I am doing is explaining that it has been my experience that upgrading and Operating System, generally will often bring with it any previous problems that may have existed on the previous OS. And that always, without exception, a clean install of an Operating System will give you a better overall result.
     
  5. Qulas

    Qulas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same exact problems as the OP.

    Everquest always worked fine with Vista however. I upgraded to 7, and now Everquest won't work. I am wondering if the OP ever was able to fix his problem, and if so, if he could please explain what he did.

    Thank you.
     
  6. Qulas

    Qulas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, I would like to let the OP know that I figured out what the problem is. Run the game without running it in any compatibility modes. Once i just ran it regularly it worked fine.
     
  7. leifendower

    leifendower New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again
    Sorry Trouble I didn't mean to imply you recommended anything I know all we can do is share our own experience here.

    Thank you Qulas
    I did that and it now works fine. I guess the problem that made me run it in compatability mode was solved through the games own updates. It works fine now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...