Windows 7 Can't see certain files created in the Explorer --- help!

vel

Ok here is the problem. I am new to WIndows 7 and quite certain this will be a small fix. I have made an account on my Windows 7. Let's call it Tom. It is in the Administrators group. I have installed Photoshop CS2. After I played around with a file in Photoshop, I saved it in one of the directories in C:\\Program Files\XXXX\. Here is the problem: I can see this file and access this file through Photoshop. When I open this file in photoshop, I can see that it was saved in the directory I mentioned. It has a small "Lock" symbol on the thumbnail. But, when I go to Windows Explorer and go to the directory, the file is not listed. Why is that? How can I fix it. Also, I have noticed sometimes, some applications can't update some files while running. For example while running Foobar2000, I notice sometimes it can't update the Lyrics files and says access denied. Thanks for your help! - Vel

Solution
Vel, it seems like you're experiencing issues related to file visibility and access permissions on your Windows 7 system. Let's address both of these concerns.

1. File not Visible in Windows Explorer:​

The lock symbol on the file in Photoshop indicates that the file is likely set to read-only or has some special permissions set on it. Here are steps you can take to fix this issue:
  1. Show Hidden Files:
    • Make sure that Windows Explorer is set to show hidden files and folders.
    • In Windows Explorer, go to "Organize" -> "Folder and search options" -> "View" tab, and then select "Show hidden files, folders, and drives."
  2. Check File Permissions:
    • Navigate to the directory where the file is saved...
Vel, it seems like you're experiencing issues related to file visibility and access permissions on your Windows 7 system. Let's address both of these concerns.

1. File not Visible in Windows Explorer:​