Change input language in safe mode (windows 7 professional)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Serenity, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. Serenity

    Serenity New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone. I'm running Windows 7 professional. I need to boot into safe mode, and I would like to be able to switch the input language to my native Greek. Is there a way to do this in safe mode? (I know how to do it in unsafe mode :)).
    The option does not appear anywhere in the control panel and when I click on "click to open Region and Language" in the "Windows Help and Support" dialog, nothing happens.
     
  2. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    You're not going to like this...

    Some things do not exist in Safe Mode... this is 1 of them. Sorry.

    Drew
     
  3. Serenity

    Serenity New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, thanks for the reply. You don't have to apologise unless you're the person responsible for this particular bit of Windows design... :)

    The funny thing is, I've booted into my XP safe mode (on the same computer) and Greek works just fine...

    Για παράδειγμα... :)

    I guess for some reason they kept that future from newer Windows versions...? :shrug:
     
  4. Medico

    Medico Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    65
  5. Serenity

    Serenity New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. Thanks for the info. I'm not going to whinge about it, because I don't have to use 7 anymore ;)

    Edit: Actually, I just wanted to change the input language, as in the keyboard layout. But thanks all the same :)
     
    #5 Serenity, Oct 23, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  6. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Even in those flavors it (Region & Language) is not available in Safe Mode
     
  7. Serenity

    Serenity New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it seems that way. I wonder why they left them out like that, I'd have thought it's very important for some users.
     

Share This Page

Loading...