Change workgroup name in Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jopwin7, Mar 28, 2009.

  1. jopwin7

    jopwin7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I'm stumped in trying to change the workgroup name in Windows 7 Build 7057. I think this is why Windows 7 can't see the XP machines on my network. Any help appreciated.

    Thanks much!
     
    #1 jopwin7, Mar 28, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  2. Infi

    Infi Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Haven't tried 7057, but on 7048 it's just as easy as in XP ;)

    Control Panel --- System and Security --- System

    Click 'Advanced system settings'

    Click 'Computer Name' tab

    Click 'Change'

    Type desired workgroup name

    Click OK

    Reboot

    :)
     
  3. Froggie

    Froggie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks alot for that post infi! That was very helpful to us in terms of establishing our network on our new Windows 7 OS. Keep up the good work!
     
  4. Simeone

    Simeone New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Infi.

    I have been connected for 6 weeks thru cable to my router, till I found your magic.

    thanks a lot, friend.

    Simeone
     
  5. Lunatic

    Lunatic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even after all your helpful posts, there is one more thing that was keeping from being able to view my files.

    In the network and sharing center, then the top left "change advanced settings". I had to turn on "media streaming," it was turned off. Once I turned it on, all was good. Thanks for all your help, it was very appreciated.
     
  6. Christian

    Christian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I have the same problem, I try connect from my Win7 to WinXP, but I am asked for a username and password, which I do not know what is?
    Hpe you can help
     

Share This Page

Loading...