Clean install, cant boot with my media drive connected

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by izaktaylor, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 64bit
    Asus P7P55D-E LX
    8GB Crucial SDR DD3
    EVGA GTX 260
    Samsung 470 SSD 128gb (Startup Disc)
    Seagate 2TB
    WD 2TB <--- Problem Drive
    WD Velocirator 300GB
    LaCie 2TB external connected with eSata

    Last night i installed a new Bootup disk drive (128gb ssd). The PC started up fine with most of the hard drives plugged in (via sata 2). I plugged in the last drive, which was the WB 2TB. During bootup, the computer started normally. It showed the bios started up and showed a screen detecting the external. Just prior to the windows welcome screen the boot stopped. Only a cursor in the top left Hand corner displayed blinking at me. Through the process of elimination i determined only when the WD drive was plugged in did I have this problem.

    The WD drive wasn't the previous OS drive. Its just a basic media storage drive. I checked the bios for boot disk priority and the correct disk (the SSD) was listed as the top priority with a dvd rom drive just below it. The WD wasn't listed. From the bios i disabled the WD drive, but on startup the same issue persisted. This drive needs only be connected physically to cause this issue. The sata cable connections haven't changed from the previous install, the locations are just as they were before.

    I reset the CMOS, which aside from resetting the bios made no change in the bootup problem. At this point im stuck and don't know where to go next.

    Thank you.
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,816
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Sounds like you may need to boot from the Windows disk. Install the drive but boot from your 7 disk and run the repair console.
     
  3. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed your instructions. Windows repair found no error.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    It sounds as though the necessary bootup files are on the new SSD.

    What files did you copy over to the new SSD?
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,816
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Did you do a new install on the SSD? If so, it may help if you re-installed with the problem drive attached.
     
  6. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    @reghakr I didn't move any files over initially when this occurred. i did a custom install by formatting the drive first then installing W7

    @Kemical yes i did a new install on the SSD. the SSD previous didn't have an OS on it, just game files. I can try the re-install, but honestly I dont want to. lol

    i swear something goes wrong every time i do a re-install or change hardware.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,816
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I think if you re-install with the old drive attached you'll be good to go. Can you check the bios again and see how the drive is listed?
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You might also want to go to Start > Run and type in diskmgmt.msc and locate the drive letter that is listed as the boot drive.
     
  9. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    The correct disk (SSD) is set as the bootup. One item i may of left out is that when it goes to this cursor screen, it blinks for about 1-2 minutes before booting into the OS on the SSD.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,816
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    #10 kemical, Aug 8, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2011
  11. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    SSD is the first listing in the boot order. then a DVD drive. Those are the only two items in the boot order. After following the link provided i determined that the firmware on the SSD is up to date.
     
  12. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    As reghakr mentions, the disk management window can provide quite a bit of information. Taking a picture using the snipping tool and attaching using the paperclip might help explain the situation.

    But is does sound like Windows is having to deal with the WD drive prior to completing the boot. Is the drive formatted normally or do you have some special software/formatting involved since it is your "Media" drive? Is the drive involved in a media streaming or sharing network? Are there any drive letters that have been assigned or mapped that might be involved?

    If you disconnect the eSATA, does it make any difference? That drive can be plugged in at any time so it might be good to remove it from the problem.
     
  13. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have started the PC with the eSata unplugged, there was no change. Attached is my disk management.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Is drive 6 shown in the picture the WD drive? Is or was it hidden in some way or have hidden partitions?

    What is drive 2?

    It seems you have been using a third party partition manager, any insight into this?
     
  15. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've only used windows disk management, no third party partition managers.

    Disk 0 is the WD problem drive. I'm not sure what you mean by drive 6, only 5 are listed. There aren't any hidden partitions that I'm aware of. The second drive on the list is my OS drive (the SSD).
     
  16. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    If you could take another snapshot showing Disk 0 (the C: drive), so we could see the partitions on that drive it might be helpful.

    I do see that the C: drive is listed as the Boot drive.
     
  17. izaktaylor

    izaktaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a bit confused. Disk 1 is the C: drive and Disk 0 only has one partition. I've attached another snippet per your request
     

    Attached Files:

  18. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Thanks for the update.

    Two things:

    1. I'm a little surprized there is no SYSTEM RESERVED partition

    2. If I recall, it seems to me that Disk 0 was always the Boot partition so it may be a cabling issue.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    That system reserved partition is confusing. I don't have one on mine. The PC had Vista with HP recovery partition. I partitioned it for data storage before I installed Windows 7. I didn't delete the Vista recovery immediately either I simply installed 7 on C where Vista had been. I believe I read if the drive was partitioned then it did not create a system reserved partition. If it will help what is in the system reserved that I could search for and see where it is.
    Joe
     
  20. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    In your first attachment, Disk 0 and 1 are not shown, but are in the second attachment. Beyond that, in your first attachment you show 5 disks (2-6).

    Some points:

    You only need one active partition on a system, and that would be the SSD in your case, and it does show as such.

    The 9 MB unallocated space has always seemed to be related to a third party partitioning software, or maybe XP if the drive were formatted or some partitions has been rearranged. There could be a situation where the drive had been set up a particular way and had not been cleaned so as to remove the odd unallocated space. I used to see this while testing dual booting situations with Windows 7 and XP and I was using the drives for multiple tests.

    You say you only have 5 hard drives. But Disk Managment seems to show 7 (0-6). The only time I have seen a physical hard drive divided into separate disks in Disk Management was when the drive had been used in conjuction with a raid setup.

    There is also, I might assume, the possibility if a drive is not being read correctly, it might mess up how Disk Management reads the configuration.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...