clean start

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by ozsan, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I was wondering is it possible to remove all home groups and start from scratch.
    I have two win7 64bit computers but somehow I have messed up the networking so much I would like to start over. Both computers can use the internet but they do not connect to each other. If it is possible to start from the beginning again how do I do it?

    Thank you
     
  2. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes, simply leave Homegroup and turn PC off. Do this for all PC's in the Homegroup and when you boot back up you will have the option to create a new Homegroup. After the first PC creates a Homegroup and is powered up, any PC on the network will have the option to join the Homegroup.
     
  3. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for that.
    I did as you said but the second computer cannot join the network. The only option it gives me is to set up a network. It's weird though I can access computer 2 from computer one but not the other way around.
     
  4. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Try these settings for both PC's and see if they help.
    • Turn on network discovery
    • Turn on file and print sharing
    • Turn off password protected sharing
    • Check to see if Windows is set to manage Homegroup connections
    Location:
    Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced sharing settings
     
  5. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Computer 2.
    All but the Home group connections are correct.
    There is a message "There are no homegroup on the network" on the homegroup page this is where it will let me create a network. But I already have the network created on computer1.

    Computer 1 can see and access computer 2 but computer 2 has no idea at all and does not show the other computer.
     
    #5 ozsan, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  6. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Are both PC's set to be a home network? Only PC's setup as home networks can join Homegroups. Work and public networks can not join Homegroups.
     
  7. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    es they are both home networks. I am going to reset the router, hopefully that's the problem.
     
  8. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    now both computers can "see" each other but I can't access computer 1 from computer 2 I get a message saying something is wrong with my network but when I click diagnose the computer can't computer 1.

    The error message is
    Error code 0x80070035 path not found
     
    #8 ozsan, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  9. ozsan

    ozsan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem solved.
    thanks for the help
     

Share This Page

Loading...