Clean Windows 7 install-loading files to scrolling progress bar to blank desktop w/cursor

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by ozzy49, May 5, 2010.

  1. ozzy49

    ozzy49 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try to do a clean install of Windows 7 I get the loading files white progress bar you normally get during an installation, it then goes directly to the scrolling progress bar that would normally appear before a Windows startup, and then goes to a blank Windows 7 desktop with only a cursor (that I can move).

    I have a computer with the following specs:

    Mainboard-Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
    Q6600
    msinfo says
    x86 based PC
    x86 Family 6 model
    System Information for Windows says it is a 64 bit processor
    2X2GB GSkill Memory
    Radeon HD 4850 videocard

    I have tried to install with every version I can get my hands on, both 32 and 64 bit. None of them are upgrade versions. I've tried installing on a fresh WD Raptor and an Intel G25 SSD. All other drives have been disconnected. I've moved my memory around and tried with one stick. My mainboard has the latest official BIOS, although there is a new beta.

    I ran the Windows 7 compatibility test and didn't see anything that would cause this problem.

    I have searched the internet and have not been able to find a solution so I would appreciate any suggestions as to what the problem could be and what type of things I could try. Installing Windows XP has never been a problem, just Windows 7, always with the same problem.

    This is one of the few times when I have not been able to look around a find an existing answer to a problem and I am stumped.

    Again, I would appreciate your help and advice.

    Larry
     
    #1 ozzy49, May 5, 2010
    Last edited: May 5, 2010
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you using a normal monitor on your system? Can you change the connection type if you are using HDMI?

    Are you giving the system time to finish something it might be doing?

    Do you have another video card you could use?
     
  3. ozzy49

    ozzy49 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice. I did have another PCI-E video card and put that in. I was able to load Windows 7 with that one. As long as I can do that I am OK and can work on why my 4850 is a problem.

    Thank you very much for your time and help.

    Larry
     

Share This Page

Loading...