CoD 5/Punkbuster hates W7. :/

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by zx6r1033, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. zx6r1033

    zx6r1033 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone else been seeing this message when they try to play?
     
  2. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    This is a well known issue. Evenbalance (punkbuster) says they will not support a beta operating system.
     
  3. zx6r1033

    zx6r1033 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow, that seems pretty insane considering the number of people currently running W7 in one variant or another.
     
  4. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    I agree. But, what can ya do? I'd love to see how the cod4 and battlefield 2 multiplayer run on win 7.
     
  5. zx6r1033

    zx6r1033 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know about BF2, but CoD4 and CoD5 both ran quite nicely on W7. The only problem is you are either stuck on non-punkbuster servers with hackers, or you are playing single player.

    I find it hard to believe that PB would have to do much to make it compatible with W7. :/
     
  6. Rules.r

    Rules.r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those PB guys are known for being jerks about this stuff- It's a known issue that their development goals are crap :(
     
  7. Anti455

    Anti455 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    go here "http://inglele.blogspot.com/2009/03/punkbuster-on-windows-7.html"
    I managed to fix my COD5 PB problem using these fixes. although I only edited the services. but give it a try
     
  8. zx6r1033

    zx6r1033 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Update: After reading through a few other posts I went looking for the "allow to interact with desktop" that I kept reading about, but had no luck finding it. I did, however, find another solution for fixing the issue.


    1) Start the game and join a server

    2) Alt+tab out of the game and open task manager > Processes.

    3)Navigate to "PnkBstrA.exe"

    4) Right click, select "properties".

    5) Click on the "Compatibility" tab.

    6) Tick the box that says "Run this program in Compatibility mode for:"

    7) Select "Windows Vista (Service Pack 1)"

    8) Click "apply"

    Go back to task manager and find "PnkBstrB.exe" and repeat the above steps.

    I played for about 2 hours this morning with no PB kicks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...