Windows 7 CoD4 Problems with DirectX

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by Qwerty, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I downloaded Windows 7 yesterday and I got it work... But when i wanna play cod4 it doesn't work. :( When i launch the game it says ""DirectX encountered an unrecoverable error. Check readme for possible solutions". I know that you need DirectX 9.0c but i got DirectX 11 and I don't know how to change it. I downloaded DirectX 9.0c and i installed it and restarted comp but still didn't change. I try to find DirectX 11 in my computer to unintall it or something but i can't find it.

    So please help me!

    Thanks, Qwerty.
     
  2. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone??????:confused::confused:
     
  3. dam89

    dam89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    8
    A few things that are helpful to solving your problem...

    1. What is your system spec?
    2. Installed all the correct Hardware Drivers?
    3. What build of Windows 7 are you using?
    4. Have you patched the game or cracked it or have you installed it from a disc or 'other source'?
    5. You do not need to uninstall directx 11
    6. What is the error code it gives?
     
  4. Elamentri

    Elamentri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had similar problems, however, last night I downloaded and installed the Directx 11 SDK found here: http://download.microsoft.com/download/3/A/5/3A53CE87-F5C9-4CE5-92E1-5E2AF4841741/DXSDK_Mar09.exe

    It's about 514mb but I was getting speeds of up to 1mbps so it only takes a few minutes to complete. The download contains tools, documents and the March release of Directx. After installation (in W7 Ulimate build 7260) I went to iw3sp.exe (COD4's exe file), opened properties and set compatibility to 'Windows XP service pack 3'. COD4 ran fine. I hope this helps in some way :)
     
  5. zimme696

    zimme696 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem and a friend told me to have a mic and headphones plugged in when you start up the game. For some reason I don't know it worked and that error I got went away only when the mic/audio is plugged in
     
  6. Elamentri

    Elamentri New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. I have installed W7 on Virtual Box, so that i can have XP and W7 on the same comp but it's powerful enough to run cod4 on it
    2. Not sure witch are the correct once...
    3. W7 Ultimate 7100
    4. I haven't patched it, but i will. I installed the game from a disc.
    5. Ok
    6. "DirectX encountered an unrecoverable error. Check readme for possible solutions".
     
    #7 Qwerty, Jun 26, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2009
  8. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't Work but thanks
     
  9. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not working
     
  10. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed patch 1.6 and 1.7 but still not working... :(
     
  11. dam89

    dam89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why are running a game on a virtual Windows 7 rather than running it on xp???
     
  12. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm just testing it on virtual how W7 works and if I wouldn't get any problems with it so would reinstall my comp to W7.

    But my father got an idea so i will today change from Windows XP to W7. Maybe it will fix the problem. And if doesn't i can set XP back again just how it was :)

    I'll write it here if it works after it or doesn't....

    Anyway thanks for the help!
     
  13. dam89

    dam89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    8
    Its most likely a problem due to it running in a Virtual Enviorment
     
  14. Qwerty

    Qwerty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem solved, Thanks for the help!
     
  15. os solver

    os solver New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have windows 7 x64 build 7048 and cod4 run normally
    2 gb ram ddr2 kingston
    2.53 core 2 duo 3mb cache
    nvidia 9500 gt 1 gb vm
    all problems happen if u have done something wrong
     

Share This Page

Loading...